Vera B. Williams (1927-2015)

cherries and cherry pits s

The books of Vera Williams have been well-read and loved in our house.  “Cherries and Cherry Pits” was a favorite.

tulips s

 

Born in California, she grew up in the Bronx.  Her books celebrate the ordinary experiences of friends and family.

stringbean s

She studied with Josef Albers at Black Mountain College, and lived and taught in a cooperative community in North Carolina for many years that was created with other graduates of the school.

more more more s

After her divorce she moved to Canada, where she lived on a houseboat, ran a bakery, and began writing and illustrating children’s books.  She eventually returned to New York, where she lived for the remainder of her life.

three days on the river s

Also an anti-war, human rights, and environmental activist, her hand and her words will be missed.

williams kite s

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

4 responses to “Vera B. Williams (1927-2015)”

  1. Sharon Mann says :

    Thank you for this beautiful tribute to Vera. She lived a creative and important life.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kirkistan says :

    Nicely done, Kerfe. I’m sorry to say I’ve not heard of Vera B. Williams. I’ll look her up.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cynthiahm says :

    I love “A Chair for My Mother”. Now I will take a look at some of her other books.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      “Music Music for Everyone” is kind a of sequel to “A Chair for My Mother” and I think there might be a 3rd story too. I like all of her books. But “Cherries and Cherry Pits” will always be my favorite.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

