Self Portrait #7 (after Matisse) (one more time)

I struggled with this one, but it turned out to be an interesting exercise, if not one of my favorite self-portraits in the end.

sp #7a comp

My first thought was to do the portrait in neo color crayons, as that was what I used in my long-ago and less colorful first attempt (below) at the style of this portrait used.  But it seemed too timid.  So then, borrowing from Cynthia at Sand Salt Moon and her photoshop renderings of her drawing and painting, I scanned in the portrait and tried a few filters on it.  I intensified the colors and added brush strokes:  better, but still not what I had in mind.

self portrait in the style of matisse 1s #7

I had also wanted another focal point to the face (Matisse had his pipe), so I wore the hand amulet that Nina gave me.  I did this first neo color version  of #7 in my blue shirt and amulet totally in front of the mirror, as I had done with the original attempt above in 2014.

sp #7b comp

OK, I needed paint to get the effect I wanted.  I did a pencil sketch in front of the mirror, and then painted it at my drawing table.  Wow, I look like my mother in this one.  One thing that really stands out for me in doing this project is the need to let go of some ideal image we need to reproduce.  The mirror lies, photos distort, and we (and everything else) look different depending on time, place, and situation.  So an “exact reproduction” is impossible.

sp #7c comp

I remembered that I had wanted to do a colored pencil drawing in front of the mirror and then paint over it, so that’s what I did for my final portrait based on this Matisse self portrait.  Can you tell it was the end of a long day and I was tired and feeling somewhat down?  But I think this technique works well for doing a painting, and I’ll definitely use it again.

I actually don’t know which version I like best.  But it’s time for another painter.  I have a few in mind for #8.

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

28 responses to “Self Portrait #7 (after Matisse) (one more time)”

  1. Catherine Johnson says :

    I love all these 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Awww…you shouldn’t feel down friend…this is a fantastic end to a day! I love the colors and the expression. It’s a wonderful portrait! ❤️😃

    Liked by 1 person

  3. outsideauthority says :

    I was playing around with portraits and coloured pencils and felt tips last night not too successfully! Will give your pencil followed by paint technique a go. Thank you and lovely work too. My favourite; the final one.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jodi says :

    OH I love these – and you did it so impressionist like the Matisse! It has such artistic expression! Great job Kerfe (right?)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    Very cool :-). I like the last one a lot – I find the brushstrokes and colors captivating. I rarely like turquoise but the turquoise-like color you used seems just right here. And the orange…. and blouse blue… the lip pink… the brown. Yup… I really, really like the colors!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sharon Mann says :

    Very interesting collection, I like the variation of styles. It’s hard to pick a favorite – I like them all. 👻

    Liked by 1 person

  7. lesliepaints says :

    Makes me want to spend some time with self portraiture again. We often forget we always have a real life model in ourselves. These are awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. davisbrotherlylove says :

    Nice! Thanks for sharing your process, K.
    j

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sunshine Jansen says :

    The Hamsa necklace is a great focal point, and Nina’s friendship makes it meaningful, AND it’s protecting you from the Evil Eye! Agreed, my favorite so far!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. kirkistan says :

    Kerfe, I like all of these, each recommends itself in a slight different way. At the moment, my favorite is third you posted, the one on the right where you bracket Mr. Matisse. All are cool in a different way.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Teresa Robeson says :

    Kerfe, I am so awed by all the work and thought you put into your wonderful versions of the self-portrait! I think Matisse himself would be quite impressed, too! The colors are so eye-catching and you’ve about duplicated the expression on his face. Brava!

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. #SelfieArt Day compilation | One Good Thing - October 28, 2015

Leave a Reply

