Beaded Skull Mask

bright beaded skull s

“Man is least himself when he talks in his own person.  Give him a mask and he will tell you the truth.”–Oscar Wilde

I know I started working on this mask well before Nina and I started this blog, so it’s been at least two years.  As usual, I wildly underestimated the time it would take me to do it, especially the beading.  This summer I vowed to finish it for Halloween.  Just under the wire!  The idea comes from Day of the Dead skulls, which can be quite colorful and elaborate.

I sewed layers of felt on a felt backing, embroidered and beaded the face, and then backed and lightly stuffed it with a loop for hanging.

And I have been working on the real “unfinished project #3“, also a mask.  However, the answer to the question, “Can I finish by the end of the summer?”, the last sentence in that post, is:  in a word, no.  But I’ll be positive.  I have completed 4 unfinished projects so far this year.

I do not realistically expect to finish the 5th one before 2016 though.

In the meantime, I have houseguests, and will be offline for awhile.  Happy Halloween, hope to be back by “Draw a Bird Day”,  (November 8), will catch up with the blogworld then.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

8 responses to “Beaded Skull Mask”

  1. Victo Dolore says :

    Spectacular! 🙂

    Like

  2. Jodi says :

    this is so beautiful Kerfe! enjoy your time with guests!

    Like

  3. Sharon Mann says :

    Exquisite handwork, Kerfe. Thank you for posting your “time intensive” beautiful creation. Beadwork does take time! 😎

    Like

  4. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is awesome!! Totally worth the wait I’d say. I love all the colors and layers of interest. And you KNOW I’ll miss you dearly while you’re gone Kerfe!! But I hope you have a wonderful break!!

    Like

  5. Teresa Robeson says :

    I am crazy about fiber art and your mask is spectacular! Love the colors and detailing! Enjoy your time off with guests! I have your #SelfieArt link up today if you want to sneak a peek. 🙂

    Like

  6. Jennifer G. Knoblock says :

    Amazingly intricate and beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

