Some Tiny Sparrow

flying sparrow photo s

I wish I were some tiny sparrow
and I had wings could fly so high…

–“Come All Ye Fair and Tender Ladies”

blue song sparrow s

The second bird on my list from elementary school was song sparrow.  House sparrow was also on the list.  When I googled photos of each bird, the same picture appeared in both places.  Further investigation showed that house sparrows have a rust patch on their face, while song sparrows have stripes.

house sparrow drawing 1s

I drew and painted both, the ones where I put backgrounds being less successful.  Perhaps I’ll return to them, especially the green one.  I really wanted an intense green and the pencils wouldn’t give it to me, so maybe I’ll try some paint.

house sparrow drawing 2 photo s

Sparrows were sacred to Aphrodite, the goddess of love, and are associated with fertility.  Prisoners see them as symbols of freedom and often get sparrow tattoos upon their release;  sailors get sparrow tattoos for good luck.  The Egyptians thought of sparrows as soul catchers.  And they have also come to symbolize the power of the small, who can unite to accomplish miracles.

brown song sparrow s

For photos of many of the various different species of sparrows look here.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

30 responses to “Some Tiny Sparrow”

  1. Renard Moreau says :

    [ Smiles ] Beautiful paintings!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Bless you and Kirk for keeping the bird love coming on DABD! I love the last three best. I think the middle one is my fave. I really miss your artwork! I thought about you and your Mets countless times in the last month. ((((((Kerfe)))))) We shall GET those Royals, My Pretty! (And their little dogs, too)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Wow!! So many lovely birds I refuse to choose a favorite! These are great! I didn’t get to play this month with my current project in the works, but you painted plenty!! Hehe ❤️😃

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jodi says :

    O…. M…. G…. my heart stopped for a moment…. these are breathtaking….

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Killing Jar Studio says :

    Stunning paintings!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Catherine Johnson says :

    Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. M.R. Emberson says :

    Indeed, these are beautiful!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. kirkistan says :

    Excellent job, Kerfe!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sharon Mann says :

    Wonderful collection of birds, Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    Ooo, so many lovely sparrows :-). I love the different poses and the different mediums. The flying sparrow is particularly exciting. I want to draw a flying bird soon, but I’m postponing it because I don’t want to count the feathers.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. artandmoondreams says :

    Your flock of sparrows are stunning and breathtakingly beautiful! Love the variety of pose and mediums, really delightful. Thank you for sharing these.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Teresa Robeson says :

    Wow! You did so many bird drawings (while I used on oldie…*sigh*) and they all look great! I especially love that first one in flight. Many North American sparrow species look the same to me while my son can ID them even with just a quick glance. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Jay Burrows says :

    Kerfe, here is my poem. The little male sparrow, third down is the image I used. I’m sorry it is not a happy poem. Sparrows are so dear to me ❤

    'The Sparrow'

    The sparrows were on the road together
    As I came around the corner

    They were feasting on seeds
    Happy in each other's company

    Only she flew away

    I knew in that instant as my heart broke
    It wasn't only for him or for her

    Rhiannon said
    "We are all that car. We are all of us each of those sparrows."

    I knew that you were gone
    I knew that you were not coming back to me

    It is time for me to fly away
    And part of me too will not be coming back again
    ~

    With thanks to Kerfe Roig for allowing me to use this image. https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/
    Writing is my own.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

