A Street Corner in Paterson, New Jersey 

I fell hard for a painting pictured in yesterday’s New York Times to the extent that I emailed the gallery to find out about it. The artist is Henry Martin Gasser (1909-1981) who lived and painted in New Jersey his entire life. I’m pretty sure I can’t afford this painting so tried to do my version. You definitely can’t achieve in watercolor and gouache what he achieved in oil. 

I am waiting to hear from the gallery but I’m thinking the painting must be thousands of dollars. I love it because it pictures my home town back when it was young and beautiful. Here is the gallery’s advertisement: 

 

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

17 responses to “A Street Corner in Paterson, New Jersey ”

  1. Teresa Robeson says :

    I think you did a splendid job re-creating the original painting, which is spectacular!

    Like

  2. memadtwo says :

    I noticed that painting too, and loved the movement…good luck! The colors in your version and luminous.

    Like

  3. memadtwo says :

    My guess based on the Antique Roadshow is $20K or more. We shall see!

    Like

  4. Jodi says :

    I love what you did with… and I love the fact that you did it! 🙂

    Like

  5. Scribble Fiend says :

    Nicely done! I like the variety of texture in yours!

    Like

  6. davisbrotherlylove says :

    Wonderful rendition.

    Like

  7. artandmoondreams says :

    Your painting is lovely, a nice interpretation of the inspiration piece.

    Like

  8. memadtwo says :

    Thanks, I really fell in love with that painting in a big way. Wish I could at least see it in person, maybe Kerfe will meet me at the gallery one of these days…

    Like

  9. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Great perspective like the original. The masters copied the masters. I can see why you liked it – it has a heartfelt emotional tie for you.

    Like

  10. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    I love what you did! What a cool recreation! 👍🏻😃 And it is a really wonderful painting. Here’s to hoping it’s affordable and you get your wish!

    Like

  11. Sharon Mann says :

    Nice rendition, beautiful nostalgic painting

    Like

  12. Jennifer G. Knoblock says :

    They are both beautiful. I love the color in yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

