Emily in a gendarme hat

In 1997 my parents took my daughter to Paris for her tenth birthday. My mom said Emily used to walk ahead of them quite jauntily. The concierge would bring her a Coke every night when my parents had their wine. This photo of her coming through International Arrivals is one I’ve always kept hanging up in my studio room. The look on her face: so triumphant. Everyone loves Paris, even a ten year old. My heart grieves for the Parisians today. 

Here is the photo. You know I always show you that.  

 

Tags:

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

15 responses to “Emily in a gendarme hat”

  1. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    So sad! nice picture!

    Like

  2. Teresa Robeson says :

    ❤️ the photo and your painting of your cute daughter. Nice tribute to Paris.

    Like

  3. Sharon Mann says :

    Your daughters picture is a blessing. And, many blessings are need now for France.

    Like

  4. Sand Salt Moon says :

    I was in Paris in 2010. So glad your daughter had that wonderful experience, when there was peace and it was safe. May that day return for all again.

    Like

  5. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Wonderful tribute! That is such a beautiful picture (both of them!!) ❤️

    Like

  6. artandmoondreams says :

    Sweet and touching.

    Like

  7. Jodi says :

    so adorable! your daughter and my son are the same age. He’s not been to paris yet though – nor have I 😦 but someday – and I will give hugs! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

