Imagine (reprise)

peace on earth nina

I may have mentioned that I am finally cleaning out the storage room.  I’ve gotten through the first layer of old knit swatches and yarn, and the first portfolio stored in the back behind them yielded a lot of my children’s drawings, and a few cards, including this one sent to my family by Nina and her family for the 2001 holidays, the first holiday season after 9/11.  I would like to resend it out today to those governors, sons and daughters of immigrants all, who wish to close the doors of America to those in need because of their religion.

imagine close up s

And it reminded me of the very first headline haiku I did, “Imagine“, so I thought it was time to also reprise John and Yoko’s wish for the world.

imagine s

“You may say that I’m a dreamer.
But I’m not the only one.”

I know that’s true.  Not all of us are ready to close the doors out of fear and our minds and hearts with them.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

24 responses to “Imagine (reprise)”

  1. Teresa Robeson says :

    A great reminder…but it makes me sad that we still need reminding, that we’ve not moved on to be a more loving and peaceful world.

    Like

  2. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Yes, imagine that. Lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jodi says :

    beautiful – images – thoughts – words…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sharon Mann says :

    Thank you for sharing these images Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. memadtwo says :

    Wow, I can’t believe you saved that card. Beautiful post. And not just because you featured me. Love you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I have to admit that I see both sides of this issue and have no firm stance either way. Very glad also that I’m not one of those in charge who have to take responsibility for the path chosen. This is once again a beautiful collage from you. Love Nina’s card too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Laura.
      I wonder what it is people fear. What is it that you fear?
      If I were a terrorist, I would definitely not try sneaking into the United States as a refugee. Even my most Republican friend dismissed the stance of a blanket rejection of refugees as “grandstanding”.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

        At some level I think it makes sense to disallow people from Syria for example unless/until we feel all of the checks and balances are in place to assure ourselves we aren’t inviting terror cells in. At the same time, how can you turn away people fleeing war, homelessness, death? I’ve heard from a friend, a Belgian who lives in the London suburbs who shared her feelings about cultural changes taking place in Europe on a grand scale that are making her feel fear. I do think part of the fear is perhaps ignorance of the nature of the Islam faith, which as I understand it is a peace-loving faith (the non-extremists, obv). I really don’t have strong views on either side. I don’t have fears surrounding this. My struggle with the issue is that I can understand both sides to such a degree that I have no stance, really. Actually I do have fear at the level that I really don’t trust our govt’s ability to do the screening necessary to prevent big mistakes. I think we often have good intentions but shoot ourselves in the foot. That would be my personal fear surrounding this issue. I see our govt as incompetent, for the most part. And believe me that is not a political statement. Incompetence IMO crosses party lines.

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        Wow. Well our government is certainly incompetent, no doubt about it. But not THAT incompetent…after all, the only terrorists who have managed to kill a lot of people in the United States since 9/11 are young men with guns and mental issues.
        Someone pointed out in a letter to the Times that we as a nation have a history of hysteria about refugees. The Irish. The Jews were refused entry during WWII. The candidates, before worrying about Syria, have been threatening to deport every Latino in the United States. No one wanted the Vietnamese or Cambodians, we interned Japanese Americans (but not German Americans for some reason) during WWII. It goes without saying that African Americans and Native Americans have been badly served. I remember when the fact that JFK was Catholic was a huge problem for a lot of Americans.
        My daughter was 16 years old on 9/11, a student in a school two blocks from the World Trade Center. She, like most New Yorkers (thank you Governor Cuomo for speaking out), knows that our deaths are much much much more likely to result from mundane issues we refuse to deal with. Poisoning and destroying our environment. Smoking and obesity. Over 30,000 gun deaths, over 30,000 car deaths in the US last year. And that’s not including people like my friend who was run over by an SUV when crossing the street a year ago, and has yet to return to work after having to learn to walk again.
        Do you really think any Syrian refugee is going to kill 60,000 people?

        Like

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

        You make great points and maybe it’s the Libra in me, but I see both sides of this one. Sorry. Not saying you’re wrong at all, but I understand both viewpoints. Now on guns, and our homegrown gun nuts, homegrown terrorists if you will, I’m sure you and I could write a book together! Couldn’t agree with you more on that one.

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        I do understand people’s fears (why is the Tea Party so appealing to so many people after all?). I just wish our leaders wouldn’t pander to them, but would discuss things rationally, and work to change things they can actually do something about to save lives. Will never happen though. In the meantime, my friends and I have some spirited discussions!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

        Decades ago when I used to enjoy politics, we at least seemed to have honorable people on both sides. Now I wonder what this country has become, truly. It’s become more of a media circus than anything else. (I’ll never understand the TP, but I guess there are plenty of disenchanted people out there to be pandered to.)

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    After further review, I now feel comfortable taking a stand for open borders – of course, keeping the current vetting procedures in place. The statements of some politicians in recent days are frankly astounding and helped make this a much easier decision than I thought it was before. Honestly, how is Trump a major player in politics at this point? Just really amazed. OK, but he’s not the only crazy one out there….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

