Netsuke #7: Snakes

 

coiled snake netsuke  nib pen s

Coiled as
if lightning, as
if combining brightness
and death.  Revealing suddenly:
shadow.

coiled snake netsuke  sharpie s

Serpent.
Cosmic bridge
connecting  regenerating  transforming
healing poison hollow
fangs.

Jane Dougherty‘s poetry challenge this week was to write a cinquain, a five line poem.  It can take many forms, like the snake.   I did one with 2-4-6-8-2 syllables and one that was descriptive.

Snakes as pure symbols of evil are a Christian invention.  Most cultures, including the Japanese, see snakes as creatures of duality, containing aspects of both good and evil.  Magical emissaries of the gods, they travel between the worlds of water and fire.  Fertility, death, luck, misfortune–opposition finds integration in the spirit of the snake.

And continuing my exploration of different ink drawing implements:  the top drawing was done with a nib pen I found in a box of miscellaneous pens and pencils.  It’s my favorite nib yet–a Hunt extra fine 512, evidently intended for calligraphy.  I’m going to purchase more of these.  The second snake was drawn with an Ultra Fine Point Sharpie.  Also good for drawing, although it bleeds through the paper much more than anything else I’ve tried.

You can see my other netsuke drawings here.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

29 responses to “Netsuke #7: Snakes”

  1. Catherine Johnson says :

    Great snake cinquain and sketches!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cdog5 says :

    I’m none too fond of snakes, but I must say your drawings here are lovely — as is your cinquain. Nice to learn about “snakeology,” too — I know they’re really good creatures … I just wish they didn’t scare me so! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • memadtwo says :

      Garter snakes don’t scare me, but I wouldn’t want to meet either of these in person! I remember my father attacking a large and poisonous snake that appeared in our back yard with an axe. And yet they still let us run around in the woods behind our house…a different time.

      Like

  3. dragonscaleclippings says :

    loved the fluctuations of the snake in your words!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sharon Mann says :

    Snakes and poetry, a good combination. I had a garter snake as a pet in junior high school. Love your drawings.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kirkistan says :

    Those are great snakes. Still, they are kinda creepy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jacob says :

    I must confess I’m terrified of these creatures, but your drawings are wonderful!

    Like

  7. Teresa Robeson says :

    What a great combination of cinquain and drawings…that’s a duality there, too! I love snakes and am in awe of them, too; I’ve certainly never thought of them as evil. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Wow! These drawings are really impressive! Nice work… and love them even more paired with the cinquain!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. artandmoondreams says :

    Beautiful poetry and lovely art.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Jennifer G. Knoblock says :

    What great subject for cinquain. I loved “combining brightness/and death” and “cosmic bridge.”

    Liked by 1 person

  11. OneDrawingDaily says :

    They have such great facial expressions!

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Poetry challenge #6 Cinquain: the entries | Jane Dougherty Writes - November 24, 2015

Leave a Reply

