Self Portrait #9 (after Marlene Dumas)

sp#9 comp 2b

Based on a childhood photo I have always loved.  I’m not totally satisfied with either attempt, although I learned from doing both.

sp #9s

The one on the left was done without any pre-sketching, in a loose and quick way.  It doesn’t look like me, but my chief dissatisfaction is that I colored in the bear.  Maybe if I also colored in the pajamas it would work better.  I’m still thinking about that.

sp 9bs

The one on the right was sketched out in pencil first, and I carefully painted layers of grey.  It looks more like me, but less like a child I think.  And I got too heavy on the hair.  But the coloring is more in the spirit of Dumas’ painting.

Dumas is a good exercise for me, because I’m still uncomfortable with watercolor.  The only way to get better is to keep painting.

You can see the whole “100 self portraits” series (so far) here.

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

18 responses to “Self Portrait #9 (after Marlene Dumas)”

  1. Jodi says :

    I, too, see different things I like in each of them – like the paint of the bear in the far left. The overall tone and facial expression of the one on the right is my fave though 🙂 I think they are adorable. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cdog5 says :

    I love self-portraits, and I love these of yours! The creator is always more critical of her art, but you needn’t be because all of these, in my humble opinion, are wonderful. 🙂 Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sharon Mann says :

    Hi Kerfe – both lovely sketches of you as a child. I like the quality of both. Happy day! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Teresa Robeson says :

    I think they’re both lovely but the one that appeals to me most is the loose, free-hand one on the left! I’m going to link to this for #SelfieArt Day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. artandmoondreams says :

    Beautiful paintings…the both of them. The version with the gray teddy seems to express a more peaceful attitude, I think it is because the tonal shadows over the eyes are different. Just a thought…but still love them both.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    I think these are great!! I’d be very pleased if I could make something like that! 💕😃And the pose is just too adorable!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

