Kemp’s Ridley Turtle

Indigenous to the waters here around Longboat Key, Florida. The Big Cat Sanctuary was a rare experience but without color I cannot capture the incredible coats of these animals, the tigers especially. I’ve never been that close to animals like that before and they deserve gouache at the very least. Kerfe, I don’t have my big iPad with me but even that app would not do them justice. Instead I offer a very lovely turtle. The beasts will have to wait until I return to my paints and Arches paper. Still no sun but lots of palm trees and the family is getting along well by some miracle. 

My source of inspiration: 

 

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

6 responses to “Kemp’s Ridley Turtle”

  1. Killing Jar Studio says :

    Welcome to Florida. Enjoy your stay. Hopefully the sun will come around and make a warm impression on ya.
    Beautiful turtle, they are fascinating.

    Like

  2. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    A wonderful turtle sketch! Hope you have a fabulous time!

    Like

  3. Teresa Robeson says :

    Turtles are amazing creatures and I’m glad you drew one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

