Chelsea Again

 

sheila hicks 1s

I realized that the Sheila Hicks show I’ve been meaning to see was closing this week, so despite the usual confusing weekend subway changes, I made the trek downtown.  It was definitely worth it.  I’ve always loved her small woven studies, and the one pictured above was a favorite.

hicks comp

There was also a lot of fiber work I was unfamiliar with though, including some wrapped pieces, some of which were then woven in places.  I liked the white on white pieces.

hicks white 3s

You can see how they are constructed from looking at the side.  Interesting technique.

morandi 2s

Another draw to go downtown was Giorgio Morandi.  Wow! is all I can say.

morandi 3s

So beautiful.

riley comp

As always, I walked around and stopped into other galleries along the way.  Interestingly, they told me not to take photos of Bridget Riley, although her stuff is available easily in photos online of course.  I had already taken these two photos…

riley stripe graph s

but what I really wanted was pictures of her studies done on graph paper.  They remind me of my days in the knit textile industry, because that’s exactly how I designed (and still design for my hats and scarves).  So I found one online to post, above.  Riley works with geometric pattern and color and I enjoy her graphic explorations.  The paintings themselves are very large.  She has a kinship to Sol LeWitt for sure.

miranda rug s

This ruglike work by Miranda Lichtenstein attracted my attention.  It’s actually composed of layered photos of stitching printed on some kind of plastic.  Which makes sense since she’s a photographer.

miranda rug close up s

I’d love to see the original textiles though.

lambie comp

Jim Lambie is an artist who was once in a band with members of Teenage Fan Club.  The color attracted me here.  Those are painted books under the hanging sculpture…not sure how I feel about that as a use for books.  Some of the work of his I saw online looks more interesting.

vibra 1s

Viba Galhotra had a fascinating exhibit at Jack Shainman Gallery.  One wall was composed of tiny framed pictures, some drawn or painted, some altered photos, some altered text.  I spent a long time looking at this meditation on how humans are changing the environment.

vibra comp

There are also some very large wall sculptures composed of tiny metallic bells.  I will be looking for more from this artist, as I liked her work very much.

tal r 2s

And as I was heading home, I was attracted by these pink walls of black and white woodcuts.  They turned out to be the work of Tal R, an artist I know and like because of his colorful and exuberant paintings.  But he is effective in black and white too.

You can read about other visits to Chelsea art galleries here.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

20 responses to “Chelsea Again”

  1. Sharon Mann says :

    I love your gallery tours, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cdog5 says :

    Thank you so much for sharing these great pieces! It’s a “virtual tour” for me, who doesn’t get to see much fine art where I live. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kirkistan says :

    Wow what fun to visit so many galleries. I love that image on the graph paper.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jodi says :

    great tour! thanks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    It’s just amazing fun to visit galleries with you! Very well illustrated and such a great tour my friend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Claudia McGill says :

    I also like the white on white textile art. I love the calm of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. artandmoondreams says :

    Wonderful tour filled with exciting art! Thank you so much for sharing the glimpse into these exhibits and introducing great artists.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Teresa Robeson says :

    Another super virtual tour! I especially love the Sheila Hicks works (I don’t think I can manage art with my floor loom but my lap loom might be a good instrument for making interesting fiber art) and Viba Galhotra (the metallic beads piece is inspiring me to do something with all the jewelry seed beads I have). Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Carol King says :

    thanks for taking us on the tour of the chelsea galleries. I really enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

