Self Portrait #10: a collaboration (after Marlene Dumas and her daughter Helena)

sp #10 comp 2

At one point Dumas gave in to her daughter Helena’s desire to draw and paint on top of her mother’s paintings.  There were some very interesting results!  My daughter Caroline gamely agreed to work on top of the painting I made of my 4 0r 5ish self, and I like her more subtle but colorful choices, above on the left.  Of course Helena was 6 at the time, and Caroline is 21, but then I’m a lot older than Dumas was when she did her originals, so I think it balances out.

sp 10 uncolored comp

Here is the process for the painting before being colored:  wet wash (left) and with added detailing.

k c comp

And then I did a painting from a photo of Caroline at around the same age.  I overworked it a bit, but I think it captures a spark of the child she was.

You can see all of the 100 Self Portrait series so far here.

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

13 responses to “Self Portrait #10: a collaboration (after Marlene Dumas and her daughter Helena)”

  1. Jodi says :

    This is awesome! Art is so fun! Dumas’ eyes are so haunting in the photo – I guess the technique as yours are too. You totally capture a spark in Caroline 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kirkistan says :

    What an interesting idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Catherine Johnson says :

    Neat!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. davisbrotherlylove says :

    Very cool. What about a self portrait merging your 5-year-old self with your present-day self?
    j

    Liked by 1 person

  5. memadtwo says :

    I really like what Caroline did. Guess she got the artist gene.

    Like

  6. Sharon Mann says :

    I love your portrait experiments.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This one is really cool! I love it! And the Caroline portrait is wonderful…definitely a spark there! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

