Seagulls

seagull flying s

My dreams with the seagulls fly
Out of reach out of cry

–Joni Mitchell, “Song to a Seagull”

For “draw a bird day” (the 8th of each month), I’ve been following the bird list in my childhood notebook for awhile.  Seagull was next on the list.  And there was Joni’s song, playing in my mind as well.  So I had to do a painting in ink of one flying.

seagull collage s

But I also love the kind of goofy dignity they have when they stand.  So:  a collage too.

You can find all of Joni’s lyrics here.  And Jane Dougherty fortuitously posted a poem about gulls yesterday too.

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

23 responses to “Seagulls”

  1. Sharon Mann says :

    Great selection, your two seagull are wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jane Dougherty says :

    I love this gull. Not the same as the ones we get (mainly black-headed gulls), but a splendid creature all the same 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jane Dougherty says :

    Reblogged this on Jane Dougherty Writes and commented:
    I had to reblog this one. Two splendid gulls.

    Like

  4. bymarion says :

    I really like the idea of using a childhood notebook as a starting point: it’s great! And your collage seagull: gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jodi says :

    beautiful! thoughtful… thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kirkistan says :

    I like them both. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. memadtwo says :

    So nice. Love both of them and the collage is so precisely done.

    Like

  8. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Kerfe!!! A collage…..of me?!?! And a painting too???? Beautiful, expressive work. I can feel the updraft underneath my wings. 😀 lol Seagulls are so wonderful. I should really draw more of them. You made that collage look easy too, and I know better. The feet alone are enough to shout about. How many times have we seen a gull in that stance. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Amazingly, we have plenty of seagulls flying on Broadway. Well we are kind of close to the sea, but it’s not exactly the beach!
      Seagulls do make me smile, though, so I’m glad to see and hear them regularly. And thanks for the compliments!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. cdog5 says :

    I absolutely adore seagulls. These specimens are gorgeous! (Makes me long to get back to Lake Michigan!) 🙂

    P.S.: Joni Mitchell — primo!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. TheCrazyBagLady says :

    Beautiful seagulls

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is awesome! Beautifully done… And love the “goofy dignity” line. Describes them perfectly! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    Lovely gulls :-). I like watching them soar. Awesome collage – I dig the many grey shades and patterns.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

