Bunting Bird Brooklyn Bound

painted bunting goauche s

Banquet of color in
Brooklyn.  Unable to
blend in, a
bunting, painted,
brilliance spotted
between trees.
Becoming a celebrity in a
barrage of
binoculars.

OK, my response to Jane Dougherty’s alliteration challenge is not exactly Art, but what a great story.  I was enchanted by the photo in the newspaper and the quotes from the excited birders.

painted bunting neocolor 1s

Brooklyn is not where one would normally find a painted bunting.  In fact, one hasn’t been seen there since before the turn of the century.  They live in southern climes, and are supposed to be migrating even further south.  Perhaps he likes artisan coffee.

painted bunting neocolor s

And I’m still having trouble with those neocolors, but I’m working on it.  The more successful painting at the top is gouache.

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

39 responses to “Bunting Bird Brooklyn Bound”

  1. Eileen McKenna {my creative resolution} says :

    Love your illustrations! Isn’t it amazing that this bird would be here?! When I saw it on the news, I couldn’t believe the colors! Looked out of place in NY.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jane Dougherty says :

    What a gorgeous gobbet of colour!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    What an awesome bird! I’d never heard of this bird and had to google it. It’s amazing! And you did a fantastic job! Each one has a unique character, but all of them capture the stunning beauty of this guy! 😉👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sharon Mann says :

    The Bunting Bird brought some Christmas cheer to Brooklyn! Wonderful sketches!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kirkistan says :

    I think it looks terrific, Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I agree with Kirk; it’s wonderful! Love the neocolors!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jodi says :

    GORGEOUS! My mouth dropped open at the bright neon colors! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. M.R. Emberson says :

    Beautiful bird – and illustrations!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Susan Feniak says :

    Wow! He is a beauty!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Jacob says :

    What a beautiful way to brighten a dark December evening, Kerfe. The colours are such a treat. And I love your verse! I might have to give this a go myself…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Cathe says :

    Absolutely wonderful, all three images, love!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Eye-catching, colorful and well-rendered birds! Might I find a painted bunting round here, I wonder?

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    What a lovely bird! Your cute and colourful drawings have got me smiling :-).

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Janice says :

    I enjoyed your poem and paintings. It would have been exciting to see that bird 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. DrawingConnections says :

    I really like the neocolour versions – especially the last one for its directness in the marks.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Poetry challenge #9 free style: the entries | Jane Dougherty Writes - December 15, 2015

Leave a Reply

