Missing 14

Aida s

Aida

This is another series I haven’t visited in quite awhile.  I still get Silver Alerts from Notify NYC in my email box, and I always look at the photos and text.  As I said in my original post, the photos are almost always unprofessional and often very poor quality.  We are busy documenting ourselves, our children, our friends, but the elderly among us, even those we love, often remain unseen.

And they go missing, although my research indicated that usually they are also found fairly quickly.

I had a long and vivid dream about my grandmother the other night.  Something about Aida reminded me of her.

You can see the entire Missing series here.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

20 responses to “Missing 14”

  1. Jodi says :

    Beautiful. Grandmas are so beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cathe says :

    This is such an interesting and strong series. Thank you for reminding us to see elders especially those with dementia.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. DrawingConnections says :

    Nice portrait and thoughtful way of spending time ‘with’ someone.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. cdog5 says :

    Oh, I love these! What a humanizing touch these portraits have, and they remind us that when people go “missing,” they’re real people who are lost and need to be found.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. colorpencil2014 says :

    What a lovely portrait…it is more than an image, it tells a story indeed! xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sharon Mann says :

    You’ve honored Aida, her eyes tell it all!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    You’re captured the soul with this drawing. So powerfully beautiful. Love this.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I agree with Charlie and the others I don’t know this woman, but I feel like I know her from your sketch. Well done!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. kirkistan says :

    Thanks for this reminder, Kerfe. Well done image!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. memadtwo says :

    I’m glad you went back to this. I love your drawings of our elders and that you honor them in this way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

