Mixtape: Oldies (K) and New Goodies (N)

I’ve already seen Kerfe’s great interpretation of my old poem written around 1970. I hope she likes what I’ve done with hers. 

This post is interesting to me. I have interpreted Kerfe’s poem literally; Kerfe’s interpretation is more cerebral. This really shows our personalities, I think. Kerfe is the philosopher in this duo and I am, oh what am I? Everywoman? I don’t write poetry anymore but Kerfe made it look so good maybe I’ll give it a try. Thanks for the beautiful piece, Kerfe!

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

16 responses to “Mixtape: Oldies (K) and New Goodies (N)”

  1. memadtwo says :

    I love how you incorporated the poem into your painting. Did you notice the colors are the same as in my original (rather spare) collage? And I think it’s quite cerebral! Great job, and start writing!

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      It’s actually a little eerie that the colors of your collage are similar to what I used. I wanted to create a calm and flat effect and I’m almost sorry I went in with the black pen. Still, I’m pretty happy with the piece. Let’s do it again soon!

      Like

  2. kirkistan says :

    Great combination of words and images. This line resonates with me: “We seek the open hand, the map to revelation, drifting on legends, finding nothing.” “Legends” is a particularly haunting way of thinking about the stories that inform our existence.

    Like

  3. Sharon Mann says :

    You two are in sync, lovely Nina.

    Like

  4. Jodi says :

    I love experiencing the blend of your friendship through your art and words!

    Like

  5. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Another one to love!!! The hands, the map and the unified color palette all leap out and of course, love the poem too! These collaborations are rocking it, you two!

    Like

  6. IsyLLiS says :

    Gorgeous! The colours bright and the words sit perfectly in the picture.

    Like

  7. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I love this combination!

    Like

  8. artandmoondreams says :

    Literal interpretation and still symbolic full of meaning and metaphors for the viewer. Love the collaboration and how the perspectives find harmony. Wonderful treat, thank you for sharing the art of work and image. Peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

