Mixtape: Oldies (N) and New Goodies (K)

shells of my mind s

the shells of my mind: beach shells
we react violently, peacefully.
Finally.

over that water I may see
what one has never seen
(or imagined to see)
ever.

freedom:
egrets flying
love: not lying

please, stop crying.

–poem by Nina, illustrated by Kerfe

I found a bunch of my old poetry when I was cleaning.  A lot of it is in little sketchbooks with collages.  Thirty-five years ago I was both wordy and cryptic in my verse.  Probably even then I didn’t know what it meant, but there are images and phrases that still seem good to me.  So I thought to remake a few and send them off to Nina to illustrate.

shells of my mind close up s

Turns out Nina also has old poetry, so she sent a couple off to me for an exchange.  I don’t think she did any revisions on hers, but they were already short and clear and I had ideas for illustrations right away.  Any opportunity to draw shells…and I’ve just been reading about labyrinths.

And when Margo at Wordgathering posted her picture prompt this week, I was amazed to see how it echoed what I was doing for Nina’s poem.  Eerie.

legends drift s

Nina will post her illustration with my revised poem this morning…above is my original collage to accompany the original words.  Also cryptic.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

17 responses to “Mixtape: Oldies (N) and New Goodies (K)”

  1. margo roby says :

    It’s a great story. I am endlessly fascinated by how things come about (being a retired English teacher, I have a strong belief in Fate). And, I’m with you on both shells and labyrinths. I love the collage.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. memadtwo says :

    I think this is beautiful. I wrote the poem as a fellow at the Fine Arts Workshop in Provincetown and spent a lot of time beachcombing. You captured the feeling of the seascape in winter when I was there. Thank you for your great work.

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      I did think when I finished it had the same feel as that winter sea collage I did for Marcy last year. This is good, we need to do more. I love your interpretation of my words. It gives me a different view of them!

      Like

  3. Sharon Mann says :

    Beautiful collage for a thought provoking poem. ✍😄

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jodi says :

    Stunningly beautiful! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Really cool and just loving your collaborations N and K! That poem in particular is grabbing me. Really love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    The poem is very amazing! Intense and full of meaning!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. corinnebekker says :

    Wonderful image and poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. artandmoondreams says :

    Beautiful words, fantastic art…inspires contemplation of the meanings and images…wonderful collaborations…and the wheels keep turning. Peace.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

