What a Wonderful World (for Louis Armstrong)

louis s

Lonesome sweet stomp got
heebie got jeebie got news
good news    spread the word

I know it’s been played to death, but Louis Armstrong’s recording of “What a Wonderful World” gets me every time I hear it.  Fine sentiments for the January doldrums.

“I see skies of blue and clouds of white
The bright blessed day and the dark sacred night
And I think to myself,
What a wonderful world”
–“What a Wonderful World” (written by Bob Thiele and George David Weiss)

Louis could even make the blues sound like good news.

You can see three more of my jazz haiku and portraits on “The song is…” blog here.

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

23 responses to “What a Wonderful World (for Louis Armstrong)”

  1. Jodi says :

    My Absolute ALL TIME Favorite ever! Gets me choked up every time with gratitude. I chose this song to dance with my son at his wedding, so now it is even more special. I took a photo of the early morning moon this morning and thought these exact words! We are thinking alike today. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sharon Mann says :

    Super drawing of Louis, and I love the song too. A very cheerful post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Teresa Robeson says :

    I also love that song! My sister learned it in elementary school and taught it to me. 🙂

    I have a similar drawing of a trumpet player…not Louis though. I might post that today to match yours. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kirkistan says :

    Fantastic sketch, Kerfe! Nicely done.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Terrific work, Kerfe. I wish I could draw portraits expressively as you’ve done here. This is something I’m really striving toward this year. I need to bust out! Thanks for the inspiration. 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Wonderful! Love the artist and song!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Love that song! Always makes me smile no matter what’s happening. And love this sketch!! So well done.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. All jazzed up | One Good Thing - January 7, 2016

Leave a Reply

