Robins (Draw-a-Bird Day)

am robin painting 1s

The sun burns down
And something plucks my garment’s hem.
The robins in their faded brown
Would lure me to the south with them.
–Bliss Carman, “The Vagabonds”

European settlers in America called this bird a robin because it was red-breasted like the robin they knew from home.  But the European robin is a much smaller bird, a member of the flycatcher family; the larger American robin belongs to the thrush family.  Their songs are also quite different.

eu robin painting s

Bliss Carman is a Canadian poet who attended Harvard and spent much of his life in New England.  He became well-known in the 1890s for the Vagabondia poems, written with Richard Hovey.  A distant relative of Emerson, his verse often reflects the natural world.

am robin drawing s

Robin was the next bird on my childhood bird list.  Although known as harbingers of spring in the North, not all robins go south for the winter.

rog s

And last, but not least, I drew Roger, the beanie baby robin (Ty called it “Early”).  Roger belongs to my younger daughter’s doll Lily.  If you spend any time around children (or remember your own childhood), you know that favorite toys have elaborate stories and biographies attached to them.  Even though my daughter is grown up, Lily and Roger continue to inhabit our house.  Yes, that’s a baseball glove on his wing…

Laura at CreateArtEveryday has passed the Draw-a-Bird Day (the 8th of each month) baton to Nina and me.  Link your bird drawings in the comments, and we’ll put together a compilation of birds next week!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

68 responses to “Robins (Draw-a-Bird Day)”

  1. D.S. says :

    I love birds, and what a perfect post for National Bird Day (well, it was yesterday I think, but still … :)). And I’ve never heard of Bliss Carmen, but I will now be looking him up — thanks for the introduction! Have a great Friday! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    OMG! These are FABULOUS! I am especially drawn to the first two! Do you paint first or sketch first? I always wonder – LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      I used to always paint first, but now I do both. In this case I did ink sketches and then decided they needed color, so I painted last. And sometimes it’s the reverse. Everything I do seems to have its own ideas where to go, despite my intentions at the beginning.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. M.R. Emberson says :

    Great post and beautiful artwork! DABD is in good hands!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. merrildsmith says :

    I love this. I didn’t realize that European robins and American robins are different. (And now I’m thinking of Monty Python and swallows 🙂 ). Lovely drawings!
    You are right about the elaborate stories of childhood stuffed animal companions–are grown daughters still have theirs, and my husband and I remember their sayings and songs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Those stories from our children always bring a smile, right?
      I knew the two types of robins were different, but it was interesting to find out why they were both called robins. Always something new to learn!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Wonderful paintings, beautifully expressive.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    These are crazy good. I can’t pick a favorite! It may be the first one! Is that watercolor? I recognize that Robin also, as my daughter had it too. Love the baseball glove. Seriously, you rock! Thanks for picking up the birdy banner! You’re very smart to have people link to you. This will save you tons of time in the roundup. How are you artistic and organized, all at once?! Bravo! Just love these!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. kirkistan says :

    Overachiever! These are terrific–every one of them. Well done.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Sharon Mann says :

    Wonderful post Kerfe, your bird sketches are captivating and thank you for the interesting narrative.
    I posted a bird @ http://www.mondaytuesdaywednesday.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  9. randomyriad says :

    When I see the robins I know spring is almost here. Your robins are a little early but beautiful nonetheless.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Teresa Robeson says :

    I started drawing an American Robin, too! In fact, I used the same reference pic as the third one down. 😀 I may have to find a different bird to attempt so there’s not too much repetition. I can’t believe you drew that many…and they are all beautiful! The Beanie Baby one made me giggle. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Wow!! Want an amazing gallery of Robins!! So beautiful!! ❤️😃 And yay to Roger!!! Hehe…love him so much!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. annerose says :

    I really like these birds!

    Like

  13. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    Beautiful robins :-). The first is my favorite – the reds and browns are so wonderfully warm and rich. Your painting and the first line of Bliss’s poem reminded me of watching robins, in the autumn or winter, gather at the tops of leafless trees to watch the sun set. I like the way their red breasts glow.

    I drew an owl! https://myrsbytes.wordpress.com/2016/01/08/draw-a-bird-day-january/

    Liked by 1 person

  14. cavepainter says :

    A bird has been drawn. Am I doing this right?
    https://artrelatedblog.wordpress.com/2016/01/08/draw-a-bird-day/

    Yours are very nice, they look lively.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Jill Kuhn says :

    Your robins are ALL wonderful! I especially like your first one! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Susan Feniak says :

    Love your Robins! I am not sure how to “link” my post in “the comments” but at least I did a post for draw a bird day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. artandmoondreams says :

    Your paintings are gorgeous. Love the bit of background and being introduced to Bliss Carman. Thank you for sharing these delightful treats.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Thanks for hosting! Here’s my slightly unconventional entry this month 😊 http://doodlewash.com/2016/01/08/little-big-bird/

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Eileen McKenna {my creative resolution} says :

    They are all great but I particularly love the loose lines of the first robin.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Lovely lines, color and texture, Kerfe!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Snehal Kank says :

    Thanks for hosting DABD! Laura just informed about this 🙂
    https://snehalkank.wordpress.com/2016/01/08/day8-kingfisher/

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Here’s a link to my birdie, Kerfe; thanks for hosting! Really helps me out, at this time of year, especially! http://createarteveryday.com/2016/01/08/draw-a-bird-day-in-january/

    I just ran into someone new who is still working on her piece and I directed her here if she’d like to be included. Not sure how long you’ll hold the compilation post, but wanted to let you know. Have a terrific weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Carol says :

    I love the looseness of your paintings and I can’t wait to see some robins in my yard this spring! Thanks for taking the time to compile the Draw A Bird Day links. Here is mine: https://carolscreativepapers.wordpress.com/2016/01/08/draw-a-bird-day-january-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Carol J Forrester says :

    I’m afraid I’m a day late my it was ten to midnight before I found the challenge. I hope you don’t mind me joining late:
    https://caroljforrester.wordpress.com/2016/01/09/doodle-a-day-9116/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

