Nine Squares (for Ellsworth Kelly)

homage to ellswoth kelly s

Green yellow red orange blue black
mint purple melon value rhyme
Square square square white disguised abstract
space darkness pattern lightness time

Leaf flower fire sun sky at night
green yellow red orange blue black
Shape shape shape depth becoming height
line shadow watch follow turn track

Meadow sunset fruit ocean park
edge edge edge direct dividing
Green yellow red orange blue black
iridescent eye wings flying

Tree beetle rose coral bird stone
look look look choose repeat sing laugh
Random change balance color form
green yellow red orange blue black

I wanted to acknowledge the life and work of Ellsworth Kelly, who died in December.  Of course:  the grids!  the colors!

kelly squares comp

For my own “Nine Squares” I divided each square into 16 tiny squares, producing not the flat color of Kelly’s painting, but a close approximation of each color from the things I had cut out in my collage box.  Which seems apt; I’m working from a photo of the original, so the colors are probably only similar to what is on the canvas anyway.  I did paint the background with white paint, which is something I haven’t done before.

If this collage seems to recall my “100 grids” project, it’s for good reason:  Kelly himself was influenced by both Dada and John Cage, and his multicolored grids were often randomly generated.

kelly nature comp

But Kelly also produced beautiful and simple botanical drawings, paintings, and prints throughout his life.  He admired Matisse, and it shows in these works.

kelly strips chance s

And when he deemed a drawing a failure, he would cut it up and make something new from it.  I’ll have to steal that idea I think…

The poem is a response to Jane Dougherty’s challenge this week to write a quatern.  I have been changing it continuously since I started it, and I think this will continue for awhile.  So:  in process.  It will keep evolving.

“When I see a white piece of paper, I feel I’ve got to draw.”
–Ellsworth Kelly

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

25 responses to “Nine Squares (for Ellsworth Kelly)”

  1. Jane Dougherty says :

    Looks and sounds good to me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Love his spare botanicals there, very inspirational. This may sound silly to you, but I really prefer your artwork. Your grids sparkle every single time, almost like the sun dancing on water. Your values are perfectly balanced and they just sing. And the poem too? It’s like … my brain is bouncing all around the room right now. Seriously, amazing stuff here! Maybe too much for my early Saturday morning brain to fully take in! Way to go, Kerfe! 💛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jodi says :

    Beautiful – thoughtful – magical – inspiring – and a lovely tribute!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    I love those squares – absolutely stunning.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kirkistan says :

    Kerfe, I appreciate this post. Images and text work well together and inspire me. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Cathe says :

    Would it be okay to say this is delicious! Such beautiful eye candy. The organization and thought put into this is perfection!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Claudia McGill says :

    I like your work better than his. Just saying.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Wow! Super nice grids! These are lovely and the poem is wonderful as well. I’m always amazing at all the movement and emotion you somehow get into these. It’s magical, Kerfe! ❤️😃

    Liked by 1 person

  9. artandmoondreams says :

    Lovely homage to an artist. Your writing and and images are a treat for the senses and inspiring…and your grids, always a delight to see. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sand Salt Moon says :

    I do that too – tear it up – you know! And I love that black and white piece, so interesting. Love the colors, as well – as you know, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Poetry challenge Quatern: the entries – Jane Dougherty Writes - January 12, 2016

Leave a Reply

