Water Lilies

lilies_bridge s

water lilies:  bridge
of regeneration, earth caught
between water and air

I did a Sketchbook Project a few years back with grids inspired by Monet and a series of haiku that all started with the phrase “water lilies”.  Reading about haiku, I enjoyed the exercises where the master and his students all took the same opening line and did their own improvisations.  Monet, too, took the same landscape in his garden and thought about it in many different ways.

I’ve been working on reimagining some of my attempts; this one answers Jane Dougherty’s weekly challenge: bridges.

“I am following Nature without being able to grasp her.  I perhaps owe having become a painter to flowers.”
–Claude Monet

Tags: , , , , ,

19 responses to “Water Lilies”

  1. Jane Dougherty says :

    Lovely. We are all caught between water and air, in a way. Some of us are flying, floating—others are falling.

  2. Sharon Mann says :

    Beautiful and thought provoking words and images. Last year I visited an exhibit of Claude Monet, it’s still with me.

  3. Jodi says :

    Oh how I love this! I received a beautiful Monet water lilies paper weight for Christmas, and this really evokes emotion as that does. How is that? I tried to get tix to a local Monet exhibit, but alas it was sold out. Hope to get to see at some point. I have such a new appreciation for art after “meeting” and “getting to know” wonderful art appreciative and creative people like you! Thank you for that K!

  4. kirkistan says :

    That’s peaceful.

  5. writersdream9 says :

    I really like your art and your beautiful words!

  6. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    That’s really stunning! Lovely.

  7. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is so cool!! When I saw the thumbnail image before I clicked, I’m like grids and Monet?!! No way, that’s awesome! Love this! 😍

  8. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Very nice, I love the haiku and art work! The quote at the end is amazing!

Leave a Reply

