Fox Mask

fox mask s

deceptive careful
is not is
the spirits shifting

This is another old collage from the early 80s that had a very long and rambling poem attached.  Which I ruthlessly abbreviated.

Foxes have conflicting roles in many cultures.  They are spirit guides, messengers that transform and travel between worlds.  They are clever and adaptable.  But they can also be cunning tricksters.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

23 responses to “Fox Mask”

  1. Jodi says :

    this collage really draws me in. Intriguing! The black mouth. Great colors!

    Like

  2. Claudia McGill says :

    I love the collage. The boldness of it. We have foxes in our back yard (we back up to a wooded area) and sometimes in the early morning they run and leap and play. I love it. I know, as you said, they have conflicting images, but for me, I love to see them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      I’ve never actually seen foxes in the wild, but most people seem to agree with you. I like that stories about animals contain ambiguity. Despite our wish for a definite answer, most of life does.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Claudia McGill says :

        Yes. I think that is why there are so many stories about animals with characteristics and morals and whatever on both sides of the line, in the same creature – a metaphor for ourselves, I guess.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is so intriguing…I see a bit of trickster in this face. 😉So I really like it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sharon Mann says :

    Collage is the perfect medium for your fox, brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    It does draw me in too! Love the colors! And that big black slash. Ooh creepy! 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kirkistan says :

    Cool collage, Kerfe. I love the notion that foxes have “conflicted roles.”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. D.S. says :

    I love collage, and though I don’t know what the rest of the poems entails, this snippet is perfect! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Teresa Robeson says :

    The Chinese and Japanese have the most marvelous fox-people myths that I enjoyed in my youth. I like how the two sides of the foxes face reminds me of the dichotomous personalities eastern cultures view foxes as having!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jill Kuhn says :

    Wow! Your mask is stunning! Masks have always been an interest of mine. I like how you collaged it and added more details with a pen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

