Live from the Modern!

It’s my husband’s birthday and he’s a big Picasso fan. Posting live from a bench at the Modern. I used Picasso’s iconic painting Les Demoiselles d’Avignon but we actually came for the sculpture exhibit. 

I tried sketching some of the sculptures, hard to capture the massiveness.  

   
You couldn’t be in these exhibit rooms without realizing you were in the presence of genius. In this sculpture of a baboon he used his son’s toy car as a head.  

 
We picked a good day to come. Not too crowded at all and no snow yet. Here is another piece I liked: 

 
As I was looking at a Henry Darger drawing someone told me there’s an outsider art show on 18th Street. I think we’ll head down there. Here’s one more great Picasso: 

 

Tags:

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

11 responses to “Live from the Modern!”

  1. Animalcouriers says :

    Great birthday visit. Love your selected pieces.

    Like

  2. D.S. says :

    Love the sketches and sculptures! Please wish your husband a “happy birthday” for me! 🙂 (And stay warm and dry — I imagine you’re experiencing the big storm.) Have a great weekend! 🙂

    Like

  3. memadtwo says :

    Happy Birthday Howard! Now I really need to get to that exhibit before it closes…

    Like

  4. Jodi says :

    wow – what a great birthday for your hubs! Love that baboon!

    Like

  5. Teresa Robeson says :

    Wish I’d been there in person with you, but this is almost as good! Picasso was amazing!

    Like

  6. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Nice!! Great sketches and sounds like a fun day! Happy Birthday to the husband! 😉👍🏻

    Like

  7. Cathe says :

    Delicious to look at, what a lovely treat for your husband (and you)!

    Like

Leave a Reply

