Junk Mail Art 9: Always Say Yes

always say yes

So I tried painting on some junk mail with gouache.  I probably should use acrylic, but I’m working with what’s readily available for now.  It didn’t always want to stick, but I managed to cover the slick surface pretty well with layers.

IMG_1161

It was not intentional, but my painted face has a great resemblance to one of Nina’s drawings done last April.  I had a print-out in my files, as I’m still meaning to do a collage based on it.  Sometime after I finish my work in the “improvisation” chain…

As usual, a shout out to Claudia McGill also for her inspiration.

You can see the rest of the junk mail art here.

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

22 responses to “Junk Mail Art 9: Always Say Yes”

  1. Jodi says :

    Love your junk mail art!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sharon Mann says :

    It looks like you just had a blast with your junk mail art. I too am inspired by Claudia!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Love!! Huge fan of this junk mail series. This one is awesome…love the words in combo with that face. Brilliant! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Teresa Robeson says :

    I love how these look like tribal art from different cultures! ❤ And "always say Yes to opportunities" is my motto for the year! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Ok, you weren’t drawing Bernie Sanders were you?! 💛💛💛

    Liked by 1 person

  6. memadtwo says :

    Cool painting. Looks like a combination of Basquiat, Ossorio and someone else I can’t think of right now. Paint more! You’re good at it!

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      And do more masks! You did a whole bunch of great ones around the time you did this one. I do want to do a more direct collage based on it (one of these days…I am working on the improvisation thread though…)

      Like

  7. DrawingConnections says :

    what a great idea to reuse junk mail – sturdy surface and good size. Yours looks very basquiat and primitive art like. Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

