City of Dreams

city of dreams collage s

Not to stay.
Temporarily.
Studying.
A few years–
that’s all—I would be moving.
Moving on.  Going.

Here still here
impersonating
the gaudy
ambition
the loud colors expanding
reflected maelstrom

city of dreams close up s

I always like to make art from other art, so Jane Dougherty’s illustration to her challenge this week of the shadorma form was the starting point both for my painted collage and my poem.  I did a drawing in neocolor based on Matteo Da Vinci’s “City of Dreams” and then cut it into squares and reimagined it.

I like the result and I think I’ll try it again.

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

32 responses to “City of Dreams”

  1. Chic Mona says :

    Dynamic! this would make a brilliant quilt block 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sharon Mann says :

    At first look, it looks like glass. Terrific composition and the color combinations are wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    I’m so loving the bright colors of this grid!! It’s so beautiful!! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Omg. This is incredible! I don’t really know what to say. So many thoughts crowd in. I absolutely love this. Love isn’t the word, more like adore! Wow!!! My next thought is that I would love to see what you cut up!! Do you have a photo of that? I’m seeing those expressive lines I love so much in black against gorgeous colors and then the way you’ve reassembled them…..don’t ever stop, and I hope Nina gets in this game too because I could see you both making amazing stuff right here. This is neocolor II right? (There’s a neo I as well, apparently). Nothing else, just neo II? This is incredible, Kerfe. Gridtastic!!! 💜🎨👍👏😱

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Yes, just neocolor II. I think I’m finally figuring out how I like to use it (maybe). I did mean to take a photo of it before I cut it, but I got distracted in between, and that was that. Perhaps I’ll remember for the next one!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Also love the shadorma you’ve created. And your artwork is a wonderful riff off of that painting she posted. It’s lovely but yours is a stunner!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Ok I may riff off of this. Or try. 🔮💜

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jodi says :

    OH MY!!!! LOVE this! Love what you do with these grids and squares and collages and how you recycle art! Swooning!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Rebecca says :

    Yowser! It’s gorgeous. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jill Kuhn says :

    Lots of color and I like how you mixed it all up! My kind of art! ❤️👍🎨

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Janice says :

    I can relate to staying though not intending to. Your collage is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

