City of Dreams, Part 2

mondrian city s

Surrounding me the
reflections in colors blue
and bluer, the light

shines in space that was
destined to instigate my
prism road to blues.

Fractured and spun and
circling around into the
other kinds of song:  red

for instance, or light
glowing yellow, and what was
that orange song?  Oh my.

Listen: eyes and mind
turning combinations all
colors.  Here are my

yearnings. They ask love’s
expansiveness:  please take me in
and sing me.  Not in vain.

This collage is also a response to Matteo Da Vinci’s “City of Dreams” painting, but it required a different kind of poem.  I used Miz Quickly’s prompt for a shovel poem, a form I’ve used before and like a lot.

My source:  Robert Johnson’s “Love in Vain”.  If you read down the last word in each of the lines of my poem you’ll find two lines from the song:

“…the blue light was my blues, and the red light was my mind
All my love’s in vain”

You can find out more about Robert Johnson here.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

30 responses to “City of Dreams, Part 2”

  1. tedgiffin says :

    Great combination and the image once again reminds me of Stuart Davis.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I love the words and the image! The city is there and I love what I see!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jodi says :

    beautiful art and beautiful words – you did it again! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Woot! I’ve got a song in my head (looking for love in all the wrong places) and I’m amazed what you do with these restrictive verse forms. Holy goodness. Yes. Happy Monday!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Wonderful combo of words and imagery! I’m astounded at how prolific you are! Nice work!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. (b)ananartista SBUFF says :

    size of this collage?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. kirkistan says :

    Love that image.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Teresa Robeson says :

    That’s a museum quality piece! Seriously!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. memadtwo says :

    I agree, that’s museum quality. Also agree it has a Stuart Davis quality with the unique Kerfe twist. You are really doing some great work.

    Like

  10. artandmoondreams says :

    Love the image and the verse, a treat for the senses.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Jill Kuhn says :

    WOWZA! This is really FABULOUS! Like your big bold images and lots of color! YAY! :-)))

    Liked by 1 person

  12. colorpencil2014 says :

    how I love this collage: bold colors,good shapes. fabulous!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Sunshine Jansen says :

    This is brilliant — two beautiful collages, one of words! (And a great choice of songs!)

    Liked by 1 person

  14. davekingsbury says :

    Neat idea, will follow. Thought you might like my post on Robert Johnson https://davekingsbury.wordpress.com/2016/02/21/2008/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

