Borders

I was looking at the Two Cliffs small paintings I did last week. I guess it’s the designer in me but I decided to put borders around both of them. 

The other one seemed to call for triangles. I should have measured, I guess, but I just did them willy-nilly. Then I bordered the whole thing in Higgins Black Magic ink.  

 
Of the two I think the first one is more successful. I added color from the border back into the original paintings (designer again). 

I also started a few small paintings on some very heavy watercolor paper. Respect to our friend Claudia McGill who does beautiful small paintings and from whom I am basically copying. Thanks Claudia!

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

22 responses to “Borders”

  1. Claudia McGill says :

    Well, you are welcome, certainly, but I must argue with the copying idea, because that sounds like you just followed along, and – these are totally individual and really really beautiful. So if I had anything to do with them I’d be happy to take credit because of this, but – I see your totally individual vision here. Wow!

    Interesting, I like the second one better, I get such cozy enclosed feeling from it, funny to say about a landscape, but it looks so friendly to me.

    Like

  2. Jill Kuhn says :

    I like them both! The first one’s border gives me a tropical feel. The second one invites me in to explore the painting in greater detail! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    I’m actually with Claudia… I really love the second one most! The triangles are wonderful and it just really pulls me in. Nice work!! πŸ˜ƒ

    Like

  4. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    these borders really look nice!

    Like

  5. Teresa Robeson says :

    The colors in the second grab me, but over all, I agree with your assessment that the first might be a bit more “successful”…more polished. I’m also a pointillism fan. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  6. memadtwo says :

    I love the colors in the second one, but something about the first one really pulls me in. The borders are a great idea and really give both of them depth.

    Like

  7. D.S. says :

    I like this. Love the way you’ve pulled the color of the border into the painting. It provides a nice contrast. 😊

    Like

  8. Jodi says :

    They are both distinctly beautiful Nina! Love them!

    Like

  9. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Uniquely beautiful. I love them both but the second is like an undulating sea of color, really special. πŸ’œ

    Like

  10. artandmoondreams says :

    These are both lovely, really interesting how adding a painted border and frame can add new layers to a painting and change the whole feel. Thank you for sharing such a great creative idea.

    Like

  11. memadtwo says :

    I was pleased with the result. I plan to do some more of these. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

