Gifts

lobster sweater s

When Teresa at One Good Thing published a post about knitting, I told her I had made a sweater for my daughter for Christmas, and she requested that I post a photo.  I finally got around to taking one, and here it is!  I made a lot of sweaters back in the day (oh about 25 years ago), but I hadn’t done one in a long time, so I was a bit apprehensive.  My daughter wanted a lobster, blue on red, and gave me one of her sweaters for fit.  Even though I made a sample swatch for size, it’s definitely shorter than her sample sweater, but she seems to like it anyway–at least she’s worn it.  The neck was what I was most concerned about–a crew neck would have been much easier for me–but it turned out OK too.

star wars pillowcases s

Then for her birthday, she saw this Star Wars fabric and requested pillow cases.  The fabric was sold out from the original source, but I managed to locate some more.  Again…I used to sew, but it’s been so long I had to look up how to thread the machine.  On the other hand, pillowcases–the only dilemma was how to construct it:  fold at the top, or on the sides.  We have pillowcases made both ways.  I chose fold at the top, and used an existing pillowcase as a pattern.  And actually sewing (a seam anyway–I would not attempt a zipper at this point in time) is like riding a bicycle, it comes back.

star wars close up s

My daughter has seen the new Star Wars movie at least 5 times that I know of (once with me).  But here’s what I really like:  she just assumed I could make these things.  And so I did.  There’s a little lesson here I think…

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

21 responses to “Gifts”

  1. Jodi says :

    What beautiful heartfelt gifts!! The best!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Wow! Very impressed! So much time and love went into these, I’m sure. So glad she likes it! I love knitting but never graduated to clothing (beyond scarves lol). So much fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sharon Mann says :

    We moms get to stretch our creativity in many ways, wonderful projects and so much fun to see.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. memadtwo says :

    It’s so great that she appreciates and understands your talent. The sweater looks warm and cozy and a terrific twist on a plain ol’ red lobster. The pillowcases are great. Makes me want to knit.

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      She really does. I’d like to be knitting more too…and I should be! But it was fun to do a little simple sewing. Pillowcases are really easy, and it’s an idea for future gifts for my family.

      Like

  5. Sunshine Jansen says :

    Knitting sweaters is next on my list; the lobster is splendid!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Teresa Robeson says :

    OH MY GOODNESS!!! I love that lobster sweater! Love, love, love, Kerfe! ❤ I wish I were half as talented as you are with my knitting. 🙂 Cute pillows, too! Reminds me I need to sew some pillow cases with some fabric I'd bought from a friend off Spoonflower. Thank you for sharing those with me/us!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. artandmoondreams says :

    The sweater is adorable and love the pillow cases. It is a wonderful thing to share hand crafts from the heart and what a great reminder, if one believes they can…they will.

    Like

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Wow!! What an awesome and one-of-a-kind sweater!! So cool!! Love it! But honestly…I’m covered the Star Wars pillows!! I want those!! Hehe 😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

