Self Portrait #12 (after Man Ray)

sp 12 comp

It’s been well over a month since Self Portrait #11.  It took me awhile to figure out what I wanted to do exactly with this one, or at least to make the image in my mind into some kind of actual thing.

sp 12s

You may remember I posted a drawing the end of January on Selfie Day.  That was from the first incarnation of this self portrait.  I realized right away that an ink drawing was neither bold enough to go with the mask, nor close enough to Ray’s photographic image for what I wanted to do.

self portrait #12s

Ray, of course, means the photographed face and mask to echo each other.  The first mask I chose to collage was actually inspired by a tiny photo I had of a ceramic mask; I didn’t know its origin but it was certainly made by a contemporary artist.  Although I liked the mask, in the end I decided it wasn’t quite right;  I would look for a mask from an anonymous artist from a traditional culture, as Ray had done.  I did like watercolor for the actual portrait though.

sp 12 empty mask s

I had cut the mask out from the first attempt and glued it onto to the second painting.  For my third attempt I decided to do the painting and leave a blank space; I could do a separate mask, and “try it on” to see how I liked it.  After looking at a lot of masks, I chose to use Hopi Kachinas as inspiration.  Not that they look like me, but I felt an affiliation somehow.  I made the mask, cut around the hand I had painted, and inserted it.

sp 12 empty mask hand s

But what a great idea!  I decided not to glue it down; I can make more masks as inspiration shows up, and keep changing this self portrait to reflect my current state of mind.  So I guess Self Portrait #12 will never actually be “finished”.

And a few words about Man Ray.  As he is so closely associated with Marcel Duchamp and the Dada movement, it seems appropriate to reference his work in the 100th year celebration of the beginning of Dada in Zurich.  Born in Philadelphia, and raised in Brooklyn, Man Ray moved to Paris in 1921, and except for leaving Europe during WWII, lived there most of his life.  He is primarily known as a photographer, having been introduced to the medium by Alfred Stieglitz.  But he also drew and painted, worked in film, and created sculpture, collage, and assemblage, all with a strong sense of the absurd.  This group of self-portraits will definitely be fun.

“The tricks of today are the truths of tomorrow”
–Man Ray

You can see all the self portraits in this series here.

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

40 responses to “Self Portrait #12 (after Man Ray)”

  1. Tom Donovan says :

    Changing masks on your self-portrait to reflect your current state of mind…what a clever idea. Brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cathe says :

    I love this one and all the studies and discoveries you made. Really creative!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Your creativity knows no bounds! And I’m so impressed with your self portraits. Nicely done. 💛

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I remember the selfie and I really like this! so creative!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Susan Feniak says :

    What a cool and very creative idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sharon Mann says :

    Ah, Man Ray would love your rendition. Kerfe, you are full of surprises!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Teresa Robeson says :

    One and all of these will be perfect for the 25th of the month! I love your interpretations of the Man Ray portrait!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Claudia McGill says :

    Speechless. All aspects of this post. Just wow.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Claudia. It was a journey! As you know, we often end up somewhere we don’t expect. And that is certainly in the spirit of Dada.

      Like

      • Claudia McGill says :

        The journey aspect really stands out and appeals to me. I enjoyed seeing how you went along and then seeing the results, much more satisfying than being presented with just the finished piece, I think.

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        Thanks Claudia. I always like to see how things get to their finished state. I saw a show somewhere that showed a bunch of Matisse’s work from start to finish and it was really fascinating how much some of them evolved. That’s why you should never despair with your creations (although of course we all do at times)…they might be going some place you don’t even know about yet!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    I love this!! So clever and a brilliant tribute! I a huge fan of Man Ray! Love how you handled the masks. You amaze me! 😊😃❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  10. M.R. Emberson says :

    I really like the self-portrait with the cubism-influenced mask in the third panel, but all of the paintings are great!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    OK, had to post this link to someone doing a 1″ piece of art every day……..

    http://ephemeralgecko.com/2016/02/11/365-self-love-update/#comment-3169

    It shouts your name!

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      great project…funny, I just found an old grid with colored pencil patterns in each grid, and I thought, “that was a great idea I had, way back whenever that was”. I like the idea of doing separate squares and adding them in each day.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    Wow, amazing self portraits, such a great idea, I love the Matisse portraits, you have nailed the technique. And I love the concept of a portrait with a mask. Vey impressed.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. memadtwo says :

    I like yours better than Man Ray’s. The juxtaposition of the colorful mask on the black and white painting is very effective.

    Like

  14. merrildsmith says :

    A very interesting idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Alice says :

    Howdy! Hopped over from Marcy Elb’s blog just to check out what your work was like — this self-portait series is a delight! I particularly enjoy how your discussions tie together your art, the specific inspiration, and the craft involved in the creation. –Alice

    Like

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Self Portrait #12 Mask 2 | method two madness - February 25, 2016

Leave a Reply

