Netsuke #10: Kinko Sennin

kinko sennin s

The last netsuke I drew was Tekkai Sennin, one of the Eight Immortal Gods.  Kinko Sennin is also an immortal being, a magical hermit of the mountains, but of a lesser rank.  He is quite often represented in netsuke though.

An artist who specialty was painting fish, Kinko Sennin would neither kill nor eat them.  As a result he was given a giant carp to ride, and invited to visit the Dragon King of the Sea.  On the way back, Kannon, the goddess of mercy, gave him a scroll illustrating the Buddhist principle of protecting the lives of all living things.  In netsuke he is both shown riding his carp, as above, or receiving the scroll.

Carp, known more poetically as koi, are symbols of luck, prosperity, and good fortune.

More of my netsuke drawings here.

Tags: , , , , ,

17 responses to “Netsuke #10: Kinko Sennin”

  1. Claudia McGill says :

    I love the drawing. And I love the stories that go with each figure. I find them as interesting as a novel and they give you a lot to imagine further. There is a whole world of netsuke that I did not know of. Thank you!

    • memadtwo says :

      I love that they really come into being out of the stories. I’m finding mythology (or religion…one man’s mythology is another man’s religion) to be a great source of images right now. And the stories are a big part of it.

  2. Jodi says :

    Awesome drawing and may it bring you luck, prosperity and good fortune! 🙂

  3. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Wonderful drawing!! 😍I’ve seen this image many times but never knew the story. Thanks so much for sharing it!!

  4. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Love this one, as I love all of your lines. Ooh, I just wanna reach in and touch the image and then make my fingers do this too! :)))) really wonderfully expressive, as always Kerfe. 💜

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Laura. The netsuke really appeal to me. Hard to believe there is so much detail in such a small carving…my drawings are always many times bigger than the actual netsuke.

  5. Sharon Mann says :

    Kerfe, I love the rough black lines on the brown toned paper. It really sets the mood for the netsuke. Thanks for sharing the narrative, it’s important to learn something new everyday.

  6. Teresa Robeson says :

    It’s a wonderful drawing and I loved reading about what this netsuke is!

  7. artandmoondreams says :

    Beautiful drawing and a delight reading the background.

  8. geo.kalpataru says :

    outstanding work. gosh, i love all your Netsuke drawings..

Leave a Reply

