Neocolor Landscape

blue neocolor landscape s

I don’t usually draw or paint landscapes like Nina does; I use collage.  But I’m finding that Neocolor II seems to invite me to attempt drawing them.

I admire everyone doing detailed and realistic work with this tool, but they bring out the crayon artist in me.  I like to work by dipping them in water and then scribbling.

Of course there is still lots to learn about how best to use them to get the effect I want.  But I like that you can combine wet and dry and both lift and layer the colors.  I think I may need to purchase some really robust watercolor paper though.

Tags: , ,

32 responses to “Neocolor Landscape”

  1. Jodi says :

    Oh wow! This is one of my faves! Love love love! Oh you guys Going to have to get these.

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    WOOOOOOOT! Gotta love ’em! Bravo!

  3. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    this is so pretty and colorful!

  4. Sand Salt Moon says :

    You made a collage of color ~ I see the sea, robust and raw.

  5. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    I love this!!! Such awesome colors and I love the crayon side of you…so fun! Well done my friend!! ❤️

  6. Teresa Robeson says :

    That’s a gorgeous, impressionistic painting Monet would have been proud of! There’s also a bit of what looks like sgraffitto in there!

  7. memadtwo says :

    You gave me a set of these for my 40th birthday and I still have them somewhere! This inspires me to get them out and use them. Great landscape. N.

    • memadtwo says :

      Yes, find them. Mine probably date from then too, but I never used them much until recently. They were packed away in the closet for one, and I found them when I cleaned the closet a few months ago.

  8. Susan Feniak says :

    Beautiful! I love the colors. Gonna have to get me some!!! (wonderful grammar) 🙂

  9. Sky Blue Daze says :

    I’m impressed. I don’t know this media. Can you blend colors? I like PrismaColor wax pencils. This looks like fun. I like the “go wild” impression look much better than precision. Keep it up, show us more.

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks, I will keep experimenting with them.
      Yes, you can just draw with them, blend them, use brushes to watercolor with what you’ve drawn, or dip the crayon in water and draw. You can lift the color when it’s wet and layer on top when the color dries too. I’m sure I haven’t figured everything out yet either. People seem to get lots of different results with them.
      I’ve never tried wax pencils, but I like to draw with colored pencils. And I do much more precise work with them. This is definitely looser for me.

  10. Sharon Mann says :

    Ah! Wonderful effect Kerfe.

  11. Janice says :

    I love the colours, strokes and blends.

  12. Genie Geer says :

    Oh! I haven’t tried wetting them first to achieve the richness you did. My set only contains 10 colors – I am always limited by budget – but this limitation has forced me to layer the washes to get the color I want. Recently I added a few colors to my set but guess what? I rarely use them, and stick with the original 10.

    • memadtwo says :

      Isn’t it funny how we get used to something? And then it’s always what we turn to first, even if more is available. In a reverse of your experience, I haven’t tried washes. But I love the coloring aspect of it, so dipping in the water works well for me. And the layering produces a great range of other colors.

Leave a Reply

