Self Portrait #12 Mask 2

self portrait #12b mask 2s

mask
raven
moon flying
day in disguise
eyes

moon
raven
silent flight
masking the night
sky

Two Lantern poems (isn’t that a great name? and the shape!) as suggested by Jane Dougherty in her weekly challenge.

self portrait 12 masks 1 and 2 s

You may remember that I ended up leaving my self portrait #12 open for the insertion of new masks, and for this second one I used another Native American reference:  Northwest Coast raven moon masks.  Raven and Moon are important in tribal life.  Raven is the creator of light, a trickster who stole the stars, moon, and sun, and put them in the sky.  Moon, a transformational symbol, is both protector and spirit guide.

self portrait #12 vers 3s

The original mask was based on Hopi Kachina dolls.  I’m not sure if we’re still designating the 25th of each month as selfie day, but if so, why not a mask?

You can read the story of how Raven stole light for the world here.  And all the posts so far in 100 Self Portraits are here.

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

31 responses to “Self Portrait #12 Mask 2”

  1. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I like how the self portrait has evolved and we get to see the different phases! Cool Native American masks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I’m having trouble deciding which I like more, the verse or the images. I think I will decide to love them both! I admire your ability to do a selfie! Beautiful work. 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  3. merrildsmith says :

    I love the interplay between poem, images, and Native American legends.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jane Dougherty says :

    I love the NA stories. They had such a sensitive insight into how all life fits together. Lovely lantern light poems 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is such an awesome evolution to watch. Stunning selfie!! Love it! ❤️😃

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Teresa Robeson says :

    FABULOUS!! Love the new mask (and the previous one) to go with your selfie! Adding it to my list.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sharon Mann says :

    Inspiring masks and selfie, Kerfe!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jodi says :

    I love it! Your beautiful selfie and beautiful masks and beautiful words. Just beautiful. Period. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. memadtwo says :

    Great concept and beautifully executed. It really looks like you too.

    Like

  10. Susan Feniak says :

    Imaginative and creative. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. jazzytower says :

    I like this, especially the legend behind the mask. Nice job!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

