Reverie

reverie collage s

Meander in reflection,
merging sky land sea, shimmering
replica.  The ship stands calm,
silent in regard.  My mirror
breaks into the shiver of wind,
pushing me back through this day.

Margo Roby posted a painting by Monet for peaceful poetic response.  Monet and I have a long interaction via the grid…

reverie close up s

As to the poem, I had gotten a children’s book of sijo poetry out of the library (Tap Dancing on the Roof), and was interested to try the form.  Originally a Korean song in 3 lines, modern poets sometimes break it into 6, which worked better for me.  Numbers of syllables are involved, and the last line is supposed to provide a twist on the first two.  You can read more about writing a sijo here.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

25 responses to “Reverie”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Another standout piece right here. It almost made me twitch as I scrolled through my reader. “Wait, what was that?!” as it tried to scroll by too quickly. Then I looked at the substrate and I’m like…..wow!! How do you do it?! Crazy genius! Amazing work; I hope to see this in an exhibit one day.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I really like the poem allot! The whole post is very nice and different!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sharon Mann says :

    Dear Kerfe, an art piece to reflect on and discover meanings. Using the raw materials at hand only enhances your artistic expression. Marvelous work.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Jodi says :

    Absolute genius! Magic! You are so artistically gifted kerfe!!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. memadtwo says :

    I must agree with the comments above. Beautiful work and your poetry is really wonderful.

    Like

  6. margo roby says :

    I love this! I haven’t even read the poem yet, although on the way down to write this I read your comment about sijos. I have wanted to try one for a long time. Seeing how it works broken into two lines helps. I may go away and try this.

    First, your poem. I’ll be back… I love the fifth line, breaking the calm. But, it’s the art that holds me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Teresa Robeson says :

    I second everyone else! What a beautiful pairing of a gorgeous artwork and lovely poem! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jennifer G. Knoblock says :

    Oh, a new form to try! Thank you. I just love the mirror/breaks and the “shiver of wind”–it takes me in so many directions of thought. (I was just looking at some Monet haystacks yesterday at the Art Institute 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    You ARE gifted – better start believing it, wild child!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sky Blue Daze says :

    I’ve started painting my dreams, symbols. This art certainly has a dream like quality, a reverie. The poetry form is new to me, I’ll try it. I feel like I need to write a little something with the dream paintings, they are rather symbolic and abstract, like I see this piece of yours.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

