Patterns 2: Gouache Resist

I tried another pattern painting, this time in gouache so I could do a resist on it. 

Here’s how it started out: 

 
And here it is after the Black Magic ink is painted on and then washed off. It washes off a lot of color and looks kind of sad: 

 
The fun part is going back in and going wild with color. I turned the purple blotches into roses of a sort. An enjoyable thing to do on a beautiful Sunday!

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

24 responses to “Patterns 2: Gouache Resist”

  1. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Love this!! The colors are so bold and awesome…and the effect with the dark behind makes everything pop off the page. Really cool! 😃

    Like

  2. Sharon Mann says :

    Wow, Nina these so eye popping gorgeous. I’m so glad you have pursued this color work. Keeping going!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. memadtwo says :

    I think I’m on to something here, Sharon. Will definitely do more of these, they are really fun for me. Thank you!

    Like

  4. Teresa Robeson says :

    It doesn’t look sad at all! I think all the different stages look really cool in their own right. You blow me away with your creativity!

    Like

  5. Jodi says :

    Oh Nina! Look at you rock this! This is your sweet spot! Love it!!!

    Like

  6. Nicola says :

    Really brightened up my day 🙂 thank you

    Like

  7. Susan Feniak says :

    Love all the color. It really brightened my day. 🙂

    Like

  8. memadtwo says :

    We match today! This is really great.

    Like

  9. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    This rocks; I echo the others….more more more ! *applause emoji here*

    Like

  10. artandmoondreams says :

    This looks fantastic! Even loved the washed out version, very moody looking and great texture. The Black Magic ink sounds interesting and you are getting great results. Thank you for sharing a bit of the magic.

    Like

  11. Cathe says :

    Wow, what fun and such a beautiful and brilliant pattern!

    Like

  12. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Such a beautiful pattern and colors!

    Like

  13. kestrelart says :

    I love these patterns

    Like

  14. fonzandcancer says :

    Thanks so much for following http://fonzandcancer.wordpress.com I really do appreciate it – Fonz

    Like

Leave a Reply

