Junk Mail Art: Sparkle

sparkle s

Sparkle is from a group of 13 mythological junk mail art pieces I did, inspired by Boria Sax’s book “Imaginary Creatures”.  I picked 5 to submit to the online journal “Right Hand Pointing” (take a look, maybe you want to send in some creations of your own…and thanks to Margo Roby at Wordgathering for the heads up about this publication).  I’ll be posting some of the others from time to time.

This was my very first one.  As with most beginnings of ideas for me, it is not as fully realized as I think some of the later ones are, but that’s the joy of a series:  take each idea and push it along.  Sometimes it leads somewhere great and sometime it just leads, well, somewhere else you might not have found without it.

The unicorn’s horn, “alicorn”, is thought to be a magical amulet of protection.  Popes and queens have paid high prices for alicorns, which some claim are merely narwhal tusks.

The traditional unicorn was more goat-like than the beautiful white horse usually portrayed today.

And the unicorn was the first animal named by Adam.

If you haven’t seen Charlie O’s unicorn, take a peek–it comes with some additional information about unicorns too.

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

19 responses to “Junk Mail Art: Sparkle”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I like the flow and movement through this piece. Mythological junk mail art series – terrific! 🙂 Charlie’s unicorn really is wonderful also.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Claudia McGill says :

    I like it that the girl’s dress is made of unicorn horn and she should be very well protected that way. Clever of her and you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Yes…the average person deserves much more protection than popes and queens! And you should send some things into Right Hand Pointing…I thought of you right away when I read about the special issue of art they were doing.

      Like

  3. Jodi says :

    beautifully tied together! It SPARKLES 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Teresa Robeson says :

    I agree with Laura; I really like the flow of this piece! It’s a lot of fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sharon Mann says :

    Thanks for posting another thought provoking word collage. The placement of the images and words together are magical. Thanks Kerfe!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    I love this!! You already know I’m a huge fan of your junk mail art! Hehe… This is no exception! It’s dreamy. And thanks so much for the shout out! 😊😃 Now I wish I would have made it as a goat! Hehe

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

