and yet…

and yet 2bs

and
yet the
past appears
to be growing:
not

a
dead age
receding
unremembered,
but

a
hunger
opening
enigmatic
eyes

A lantern poem, inspired by Margo Roby’s suggestion to explore one of the meanings of the word “still”.  The artwork is another exploration based on the work of Thornton Dial, “Eyes in the Jungle”.

thornton-dial-eyes-in-the-jungle s

I have no rational explanation for the birds, except that after I did the animal skin ground and the eyes, I immediately thought:  this needs birds.  And it did.

Which is a good lead-in to remind everyone that Draw-A-Bird Day (March 8) is fast approaching…

So there you are.

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

34 responses to “and yet…”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    The walls have eyes (and wings!), my friend! Wonderful riff off the artwork and another terrific verse. The past does indeed grow, with every page from the calendar torn. I hope you have a terrific Thursday. ❤ Can you believe it's almost been a year of DABD?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jodi says :

    Such deep and evocative thoughts provoked. So much to look at and take in. You always amaze me Kerfe!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Misky says :

    Fascinating, and some how unsettling with all those eyes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jane Dougherty says :

    I think the birds are a good addition. Not so sure about that dangling arm though…Lanterns that swing together—I love the way they link.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I really like this, very different and makes me wonder….

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sharon Mann says :

    Wild and exotic! I love this piece and the words.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. georgeplace2013 says :

    Your words add another level to the picture. Great job.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is wonderful Kerfe… I love the animals textures you incorporated and the poem is outstanding. Was staring and getting lost in this piece and almost forgot to leave a comment. 😊Hehe

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Scribble Fiend says :

    Love the collage! I have Draw a Bird Day marked on my calendar & I’m determined not to miss it again this month! I already have some birds in mind.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Teresa Robeson says :

    Your subconscious always knows! Great pairing of poem and picture, once again!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. MAGNY TJELTA says :

    fantastic work. I love it

    Liked by 1 person

  12. M.R. Emberson says :

    Adding birds was a good idea! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. artandmoondreams says :

    Lovely duet of artwork, the visual and the verse.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. merrildsmith says :

    I love the poem. The poem and art complement each other, but I do find the eyes unsettling. Perhaps the point. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

