Fierce Fossils

predator rorschach s

life has been troubled
jaws and sharp teeth
destroying
ancient
bones
fierce
fossils
becoming
predatory
collected in death

An hourglass poem, from Jane Dougherty’s challenge this week.

As usual, I have explanations for both the art and the words.

I was looking for a collage I thought I had started in my “ideas” bin, which is full of things I thought about and did a little bit to start (so I didn’t forget about the idea), with the intent to go back and complete them at some future date.  It’s full, needless to say, as I have many more thoughts than I have time to realize them.

I didn’t find the collage, but I found about 15 “Rorschachs” that I’ve been doing for awhile with leftover paint.  Most of them need a lot of fleshing out–I was mostly thinking of stitching over them–but this one stood out for me as being complete in itself.  Found Art, really, as all I did was drip the leftover colors onto the paper and fold it to see what would happen.  Looks like a predator to me…of course, you may see something different…

Since the art was “found”, I constructed the poem in a “found” method I’ve used before.  I looked for an article on predators online, pulled out words and phrases I liked, and mashed them together in the syllable sequence Jane suggested.  The article I used (“What was Earth’s first predator and when did it live?” by Colin Barras) was quite interesting, so I also learned a bit while I was borrowing words.  You can read it here.

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

40 responses to “Fierce Fossils”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I see a giraffe with German shepherd ears! 💜 Love the way you went about this! You make writing poetry this way seem much easier than it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Fascinating! Thanks for sharing the process.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Claudia McGill says :

    I like the whole process. Found art, and also the poetry. Reminds me of collage poetry I do except yours was shuffled around in your head, you didn’t cut up the book. I love these ideas, and I love your exploring nature and what you made of – scraps! that others might have tossed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Claudia. You know you are a constant inspiration to Nina and me! I like that we have our own ways of exploring the same ideas.
      I was thinking this morning I hate to discard anything, I always think I can make something else from it…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Claudia McGill says :

        Yes. I know that feeling. And also that sometimes a project needs to rest for a while and then later it suddenly seems to have regained momentum and can be made into something. But it has to have that little vacation thing. I don’t know why it is but it happens to me a lot.

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        That is true, a vacation is a great description. For both the project and the creator. Sometimes an idea gets tired, too, and needs time and space for possible revival.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. merrildsmith says :

    I love the poem and the entire process. I think my own “idea bin,” is mostly in my brain. I love your mix of art, poetry, and natural science.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jodi says :

    You so fascinate me with your creativity! Thanks so much for sharing every day. 👍

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jane Dougherty says :

    Exactly what Claudia said. All those discarded treasures that you retrieve and gift with a second lease of life, beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Great poem and I love how the image turned out!! It’s really fascinating…definitely a predator… and totally cool effect!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Teresa Robeson says :

    I, too, found your process fascinating! And, like Laura, I saw a giraffe with dog ears instead. LOL! Very creative!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sharon Mann says :

    Thank you Kerfe for your process explanation. It’s always interesting to know the behind the scenes thought process. I’m inspired.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I really find this interesting, always something different!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Elusive Trope says :

    Maybe the predator article was a little too much for my brain without a first cup of coffee finished, but incredibly fascinating, both from an evolutionary science point of view and from the perspective of what we think when we hear “predator,” which is true for so many words.

    A truly creative approach to the poetic form Jane Dougherty has offered. Worked perfectly. As well as a companion piece to the Rorschach. I have to say I first saw a giraffe like creature, but that is the beauty of a Rorschach, in a way taking a poem down to its most simplistic non-word form.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Doug. The article does have a totally different perspective, which was one thing I liked about it. Always good to look at the world a little differently.
      Interestingly, even after so many people saw a giraffe, I still have a hard time projecting that image into it. Not sure what that says about me! maybe I don’t want to know…

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Sunshine Jansen says :

    Strange things make me happy, but I was having kind of a bad day until I read that article; that thing is packed with stuff I didn’t know before! I see you opted not to work “anomalocaridid” into your poem; probably wise. ^_^ Oh, and I definitely see some kind of alien predator with spider eyes, and hyena ears…

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Alien predators! I like that image.
      “Anomalocaridid” definitely has more than 5 syllables, so wouldn’t work for this poetic form. But the article was filled with great strange words, wasn’t it? And I would never even have considered that point of view. One of the good sides to the internet…

      Liked by 1 person

  13. artandmoondreams says :

    The pairing is perfect. Love the way the poem and image work together…and love the image, a bit skeletal, a bit of a faded image where ears and whiskers might have been…it has a “life” feel to it, past and present sort of thing. Beautifully done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

