Very Old

While doing some spring cleaning in the basement I came across an old portfolio. There was some good stuff in there. This is a painting on paper from my Diebenkorn phase. No date on it; I would guess around 1968 or so. So interesting to see things that I did so long ago in my callow youth!

Tags:

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

21 responses to “Very Old”

  1. Elusive Trope says :

    like coming across a decades-old journal. the same person, but not.

    Like

  2. Genie Geer says :

    I’m over the moon with this painting! I still love those Bay Area artists. Timeless style.

    Like

  3. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    So cool. Thanks for showing us

    Like

  4. Sharon Mann says :

    Fantastic, I’m so glad you kept your portfolios!!

    Like

  5. Jodi says :

    this is awesome!

    Like

  6. Teresa Robeson says :

    That is a wonderful, soulful painting! What do you mean “callow”? 🙂

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      I believe “callow” means young and inexperienced as in the song “Try To Remember” from the Fantastics. The lyric says “Try to remember the kind of September/when I was a young and a callow fellow…” Great show, ran in New York for something like thirty years.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. memadtwo says :

    Love it! the contrast of solid and line, the composition…inspiring? it should be.

    Like

  8. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Wonderful. If you’re going to be influenced you can’t go wrong with Diebenkorn.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Cathe says :

    What a great treasure to unearth! Inspiration, yes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

