Blue Jay (Draw-a-Bird Day)

blue jay neocolor s

 In one hop
the jay turns his back on me,
dips as though about to drink
the air itself, and flies.
–Philip Levine, “The Rat of Faith”

blue jay goauche s

Blue Jays are related to crows, and like crows they are loud and intelligent.  Excellent mimics, they especially like to use the calls of hawks to keep other birds away from food sources.  They also use their crest to communicate.

blue jay bw s

 Although they have a reputation for stealing other birds’ eggs, blue jays are largely vegetarian. They have a fondness for acorns, and can often be found near oak trees.  Their reputation for aggression is also also overstated, as studies have shown many other birds, including woodpeckers, mockingbirds, and cardinals, to be more contentious.

blue jay wc pencils s

Blue jays are known to migrate, although little is known about where they go and why, since individual birds may migrate one year and stay put the next.

Put a link to your bird post in the comments and Nina and I will include you in the Round-Up we do with all the birds for March.

And you can read the rest of Philip Levine’s poem here.

Media used for drawings, from top to bottom:  neocolor, gouache, ink pen, watercolor pencils

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

50 responses to “Blue Jay (Draw-a-Bird Day)”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    I like bluejays. Thank you for the information. I particularly like your flying bluejay. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    Wow! What a beautiful collection of blue jays!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cathe says :

    Beautiful Jays, nice to see all of them draw and painted in so many mediums.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Claudia McGill says :

    I love blue jays and always have, even when everyone else reviled them! These are wonderful images. And thank you for the info on the bird itself.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    Love the top one of the jay, they are beautiful birds, you have captured their character….oh and neocolors, works to great effect, no wonder it’s my fav 😀
    Here is my link to a little robin, we should be in spring, but the uk feels more like the winter we never had?
    http://rebeccaevanscreate.com/2016/03/08/draw-a-bird-day-robin/

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Action! Action! Love them, Kerfe. I do believe your expressive pen marks steal the show for me this time. They really are beautiful birds; no doubt about that!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. circadianreflections says :

    The series is beautiful! I can almost hear them squawking at me as I type. They squawk at me while hiking all the time. I enjoy their antics, and company on hikes.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Animalcouriers says :

    Gorgeous drawings.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Teresa Robeson says :

    Oh, sure, i barely got one bird in and you did an entire flock…LOL! I know from personal experience that mockingbirds and cardinals are, indeed, more aggressive. And you know what are notorious egg stealers? Evil chipmunks. 😀 Your jays are gorgeous…lively and colorful!

    My link is https://teresarobeson.wordpress.com/2016/03/08/draw-a-bird-day/

    Thanks, Kerfe and Nina!

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      I never knew that about chipmunks. My father used to hate how they dug around the foundation of the house…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Teresa Robeson says :

        Oh, yeah, we hate that, too…have to be careful running around because between the moles and chipmunks, you could easily twist an ankle as the ground gives way or you get a foot stuck in a hole. They are also noisy buggers. It’s why I like squirrels much more than chipmunks. LOL!

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Sharon Mann says :

    Vibrant, exciting drawings Kerfe, the Blue Jay reminds me of camping trips as a kid. They always hung around to steal scraps of food.
    Please include me in your role call
    http://Www.mondaytuesdaywednesday.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  11. memadtwo says :

    The jays in my neighborhood are downright aggressive. They all hang out together in a small tree around the block. Very loud and very pretty! Your work is so good!

    Like

  12. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Wow… is there a medium you can’t rock? These are beautiful blue jays! I particularly like the watercolor pencils… I could never get those to bend to my will so I’m really impressed with that one. Nice work! And my unusual bird will be coming this evening. hehe

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    These are splendid. The flying one especially!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Scribble Fiend says :

    The colors & different mediums you’ve used are great – I’m also a fan of the one in ink. 🙂

    Here’s mine for the Round-Up: https://dreamofthescribblefiend.wordpress.com/2016/03/08/saw-whet-owl-draw-a-bird-day/

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Catherine Johnson says :

    You’ve done loads. They are awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Susan Feniak says :

    Beautiful Blue Jays! In this neck of the woods we have Stellar Jays which are loud and obnoxious but their pretty blue feathers some how make up for that. Here is the link to my Draw A Bird Day post and thank you for hosting again! Cheers Susan
    https://susanfeniakart.wordpress.com/2016/03/08/draw-a-bird-day-5/

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Snehal Kank says :

    Beautiful Blue Jays Kerfe! Love them!
    Here is my entry for this month https://snehalkank.wordpress.com/2016/03/08/bird-day-cardinal/
    Thanks for hosting again K & N 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. cavepainter says :

    I made some chickadees here- https://artrelatedblog.wordpress.com/2016/03/08/draw-a-bird-day-3/

    Blue jays and other jays are fun to watch. I’m more used to scrub jays. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    Lovely collection of blue jays :-). Oh those blues! Their hawk sounds crack me up. Thanks for putting in a few good words for them.

    My March birdies are here:
    http://myrsbytes.com/2016/03/09/bald-eagles/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

