Draw a Bird Day: Parrots

There was a great story in the New York Times magazine in January about the emotions of rescued parrots. I saved it thinking I’d do some parrots for today. 

Another version of the same bird. They used this one for the cover.  

 
Coincidentally a Bloomingdales catalog arrived a few days ago with a colorful parrot featured so I guess this third one qualifies as junk mail art. The little guy in the background is cut from the catalogue with his friend painted by yours truly.  

 
Happy Draw a Bird Day!

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

32 responses to “Draw a Bird Day: Parrots”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Aww they look so happy and full of glee with that delightful expression! 💜💜💜 Wonderful junk mail art too!

    Like

  2. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I love all of these birds! the bottom ones are so colorful, lovely!

    Like

  3. memadtwo says :

    Thank you Lyn.

    Like

  4. memadtwo says :

    Nina, you captured the personality of these wonderful birds perfectly! Love the little collage touch in the third one too.

    Like

  5. Teresa Robeson says :

    Cool different styles of the different species of parrots! I always love your collages but the cartoon style is fun, too!

    Like

  6. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Gorgeous!! I’m loving them all and wanting more! I’m super greedy😊 I really love the last blend of the last one… just super cool!

    Like

  7. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Wonderful! You’ve really captured their essential parrotiness.

    Like

  8. Sharon Mann says :

    These parrots are so happy Nina. Thanks for posting!!

    Like

  9. Scribble Fiend says :

    Awesome! Love the top parrot especially!

    Like

  10. memadtwo says :

    Thanks, that one is my favorite as well.

    Like

  11. Susan Feniak says :

    I agree with Michael Richards at (certainline) you have captured their parrotiness! New word alert! They look so alert and mischievous.

    Like

  12. cavepainter says :

    These parrots are super cute. There’s a huge macaw at the plant nursery near me and recently he said “hello” to me. 🙂

    Like

  13. artandmoondreams says :

    These are beautiful and the top one is stunning. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  14. Cathe says :

    I have to agree, the top parrot speaks to me. Lovely technique. How was the article?

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      The article was so sad and interesting. One of the rescued parrots had been kept in a kitchen drawer. I was nearly crying when I read it. They are such wonderful birds. Technique was white gouache on black paper. Thanks Cathe!

      Like

  15. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    I love your parrots, so full of character

    Like

  16. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    Gorgeous birds :-). Your technique on the first one is really cool – I like the way the grey shows through and the black lines have variable thickness. Sad but sweet article – interesting how the two shelters came together.

    Like

Leave a Reply

