International Women’s Day

choice s

intersecting
you contain    but no words can
measure choice

An old collage and a severe pruning of the accompanying poem

Tags: , ,

25 responses to “International Women’s Day”

  1. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Even with pruning, the poem still packs a punch. And powerful image to go with it!

  2. kirkistan says :

    Hey Nina and Kerfe–I’m still following your posts and enjoying them, but I’ve been overwhelmed with grading. But…our daughter did a wonderful collage as an art project that I think you would appreciate. She combined a matriarchal look at craft and art and textiles and images. If you are interested i could send you an image. It reminded me of things I’ve seen you both do. It’s been hanging in a gallery in her college.

  3. Teresa Robeson says :

    I agree with Charlie’s comment! ❤

  4. memadtwo says :

    Would that be Georgia O’Keefe? Very lovely piece.

    • memadtwo says :

      You know it may be…it’s in that old journal of collage and poetry from the 70s. When I saw the image and read the poem, it reminded me of my grandmother and her life intersection with her daughters and granddaughters. But Georgia would be perfect, wouldn’t she?

  5. Sharon Mann says :

    My grandmother was an advocate always for woman’s rights. I’m so fortunate my life intersected with hers. Thank you for your collage and words of strength today.

    • memadtwo says :

      My grandmother was evidently quite the independent woman in the 1920s. It’s interesting to see the intersections and also the advances and retreats in all the generations since then. But generally I think we are moving ahead!

  6. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Also love this powerful piece!

  7. artandmoondreams says :

    Great pairing, strong and profound.

  8. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Love the poem and the art!

  9. kestrelart says :

    Next year I’ll send happy international women’s day cards to the women in my life. It rather escaped me this year. Funny that the shops don’t promote this …

Leave a Reply

