Junk Mail Art: Turtle

6 x 6 junk mail turtle

endless change    our eyes
opened    our feet contain both
highways and home

For many Native American tribes, turtle carries the weight of the earth on her back.  Her shell contains the heavens, her body the underworld, and sacred writings and maps cover the shell.  A symbol of creation, protection, and longevity, she is the keeper of the doors, the mediator between land and water, heaven and earth.

My collage is based on a Navajo turtle image.

Tags: , , , ,

22 responses to “Junk Mail Art: Turtle”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    What a cool piece! You’ve outdone yourself again! I love that line “Our feet contain both highways and home”. That is just fabulous! Happy week to you, Kerfe.

  2. Jodi says :

    Love it Kerfe – wonderful, thoughtful message! I love your junk mail art collages! And you are a deep thinker! I like that 🙂

  3. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Wonderful Kerfe, and I agree with Laura about the beauty of that line.

  4. kirkistan says :

    That’s a thoughtful piece, Kerfe. I particularly like the words at the top. I like seeing “opened” and “Our feet” before I see “our eyes.” This reminds me of a book I’m reading call “A philosophy of walking,” The author posits that some of our great thinkers did their best writing as they were walking. Thanks for this.

  5. memadtwo says :

    I like that the turtle shell echoes back to your masks. This is very original and the words fit it to a T.

  6. Sharon Mann says :

    The words and image make me feel grounded, love it.

  7. Teresa Robeson says :

    I’d heard of that Navajo legend and I think your collage piece illustrated it beautifully and thoughtfully!

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is cool! Love the words and symbolism. Nice!

  9. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I love hearing about this!

Leave a Reply

