Orange Swirls

Another gouache resist in what I guess is a series. My husband said they look like flower tapestries. I didn’t leave enough white showing  and the black ink didn’t have a place to stick. 

Here was the first version. I put a little too much paint on the surface.  

 
Painting after ink was washed off: 

 
This is the fourth one I’ve done and it was done on extremely heavy paper. That did the trick as far as warping: no warp whatsoever. Problem solved!

Tags:

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

16 responses to “Orange Swirls”

  1. memadtwo says :

    What paper did you use?
    Bird day banner?

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      It’s an extremely heavy and expensive watercolor paper I used for the store a while back. Had some left over and cut it up. I also taped it on a board to paint it but that’s not why it didn’t warp. Do you want some? Also heard about a paper called Yugo–made of polyester. I may have the name wrong, will check it out though.

      Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        So it’s heavier than arches? Maybe I’ll try arches first with the neocolor. The paper I’ve been using is pretty light, and when I layer a lot it wears away the paper.

        Like

      • Claudia McGill says :

        I think you mean Yupo. I’ve tried it and I like it, but it is like painting on plastic. No absorbency. The paint sticks but I don’t know how! Very very smooth.

        Like

      • memadtwo says :

        Yes, a lot heavier than any Arches I’ve ever used. I think it is Arches; I’ll take a look at the watermark. Definitely the heaviest paper I’ve used, I think you would like it.

        Like

      • memadtwo says :

        Thanks Claudia, I do mean Yupo. I’ve never used it but an artist friend of mine did some nice work with it. I think I’ll stick to watercolor paper though.

        Like

  2. kirkistan says :

    I”m crazy about those swirls, Nina.

    Like

  3. Jodi says :

    Fun Swirly Nina!!! I love the first one best! So cheerful!

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      The first one is the finished product. This technique is so much fun. When you’re left with the painting washed off it directs you where to paint, what color, etc. I’m really having fun with this. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sharon Mann says :

    I love these patterns and color, I’d love a scarf of both.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    I’m loving these! The colors and patterns are all so cool!

    Like

  6. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    That first one is the BOMB, Nina. LOve it!

    Like

  7. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Beautiful color and design!

    Like

Leave a Reply

