Face in the Mirror, poem by Kerfe Roig (MY MANE MEMORIES Poetry and Prose Series)

And on a lighter note…

Silver Birch Press

roig_illustrationFace in the Mirror
by Kerfe Roig

I
had long
beautiful
hair. Straight. Waist-length.
What was I thinking?
I was thinking: Change. New.
Reinvention. I thought: Bold.
Happy. Admiration. Envy.
Compliments and An Exciting Life.
Blame it on Charley’s Angels. Blame it
on Carly, Fashion, Photographs
in Magazines, Vanity…
But wait—didn’t I feel
uncomfortable,
didn’t I know?
That mirror
was not
me.

Illustration by the author, with a nod to Man Ray

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: In the 1970s, a graduate of fashion school and working in the fashion industry, I decided I needed a makeover. So I cut the long straight hair that remained from my hippie days and embarked on a series of permanents. It didn’t take too long for me to realize that the hair I was born with suited me best, and it has remained straight ever since.

roig_photoABOUT THE AUTHOR: Kerfe Roig enjoys transforming words…

View original post 36 more words

18 responses to “Face in the Mirror, poem by Kerfe Roig (MY MANE MEMORIES Poetry and Prose Series)”

  1. Sharon Mann says :

    I made a comment on the Silver Birch Press, too. I always admire your poetry of honesty.

    • memadtwo says :

      It’s interesting, Silver Birch always wants very personal poems. Often their prompts intrigue me, but it’s not natural for me to write about myself. Good to get out of the comfort zone though…

  2. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    nice poem! nice post!

  3. Carol King says :

    I spent most of my younger years trying to straighten my hair. I, too, have realized that I was born with the hair that suits me best. Lovely poem and drawing.

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Carol. My older daughter has unruly waves and as a child she always wished for it to be straight like mine…she couldn’t believe I spent a few years trying for hair like hers. But eventually most of us reconcile!

  4. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Wow…awesome combo! Great sketch and the poem is wonderful, Kerfe. Great message

  5. Cathe says :

    So insightful. I’m pretty gray and straight haired these days!

  6. Sand Salt Moon says :

    I have wavy hair and always wanted straight hair but I know now (as you do too) natural is best. xo Cutie! Love the drawing – need technique – and your message. Young girls should read this ; )

Leave a Reply

