Almost Spring

chris davis comp s

“They throw the ball, I hit it; they hit the ball, I catch it.”
–Willie Mays

“Wait till next year” they
say, and here are arms to throw
a curve, a fast ball.

Who can say that I
will not be able to hit
that ball out, send it

much farther than they
have ever seen?  to reach up, hit
the stars with that ball.

Listen closely:  I
can hear bats sing.  Come catch
the magic of it.

As usual:  explanations.  Laura at Create Art Everyday asked me awhile ago to put my Mets obsession on hold and draw Chris Davis, who plays first base for her team, the Baltimore Orioles.  I had been planning to, and got an extra push with a poetic prompt from Colleen and Ronovan:  write something based on a quote you find inspiring.  The theme was “wisdom”, and who is wiser about baseball (and life) than Willie Mays?

Writers Quote Wednesday Writing Challenge

Quotes are perfect for shovel poems:  look at the last word of each line.

Opening Day Sunday April 3!  The real first day of spring!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

22 responses to “Almost Spring”

  1. Jodi says :

    Those sketches are awesome! Laura will be so excited!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Awwww now this is cool!! These sketches have so much energy it’s like I can hear the crack of the bat and the cheers!! And wonderful words to go with…so good! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. memadtwo says :

    Great action drawings; Charlie is right. I never go to baseball games but I can smell the hot dogs and beer : ).

    Like

  4. artandmoondreams says :

    Beautiful and brilliant! Love the sketches, they capture the energy and rhythm
    of the players. The poem is a joy to read, the magic of the game is palpable, wonderful pairing of art and verse.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    It’s him! It’s The Incredible Hulk! You’ve captured him in the right-hand sketch, Kerfe! Woot! Boy, I’m glad I decided to take a quick scan of my reader, or I’d have missed this! Thank you!!! 💜😍🙇👍

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Also, wonderful verse! And I love the word ‘magic’, works great as you capture a bit of Orioles magic here.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Ok, the angle of his right arm and leg and hip is perfect in the left sketch too! Woo!!! I should try this. I think I did once and it bombed totally. You make it look much easier than it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    What amazing sketches!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The Baseball Bloggess says :

    What a beautiful drawing of Chris “Crush” Davis … I love, love, love the life in it. There is no doubt that that ball is going to be scooped up by his bat and crushed onto Camden Yards’ Eutaw Street … I’m just sure of it! Plus, Willie Mays! All good things wrapped up in a single post. Thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

