Blue Roses

I found an old skirt in the attic. It didn’t fit me anymore but I really like the design and decided to cut it up for a collage painting. 

I started by decoupaging the cut out roses onto the heavy watercolor paper I’ve been using.  

 
I painted in the leaves and stems in brown and then just let it happen. Here is a shot of the skirt; it is an interesting textile. I seem to be exploring my old textile design roots but I’m not fighting it! 

 
Woke up to snow on the ground. Happy Spring!

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

15 responses to “Blue Roses”

  1. Jodi says :

    YAY – a fun Nina pattern! love it. A bit of that ole’ snow on the ground here today too! Oh Mother Nature! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Don’t fight it Nina!! This is too cool!! Lovely repurposing and beautiful design and color!! 😍

    Like

  3. memadtwo says :

    Nina, I love the combo of paint and collage. What a great way to recycle old clothes! But of course you used textiles in the Paterson paintings too…

    Like

  4. Sharon Mann says :

    Nina, I love your new design! The skirt fabric is very unusual with it combinations of graphic styles.

    Like

  5. memadtwo says :

    It was a great skirt from a long time ago. I could almost button the waist…almost. Putting it to good use though. Thank you Sharon!

    Like

  6. artandmoondreams says :

    Am intrigued by the fabric, such an interesting design, makes me wonder if it is a South American textile. Love your collage with the fabric and applaud your going with flow of creative explorations.

    Like

  7. Cathe says :

    What fun and a great transformation!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Neat technique and wonderfully charming results

    Like

  9. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    So pretty! Love the roses!

    Like

Leave a Reply

