What

o my soul s

O my soul
What curse is this? what
eternal
death will sing
sinking down down beneath the
dreadful silence O!

my soul

This hymn was singing in my mind yesterday.  I rearranged the words.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

31 responses to “What”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Yesterday and your verse, both examples of what happens when religion becomes twisted and extremist. Your collage conjures real beauty from the chaos though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    I need more coffee to understand this one this morning 🙂 The image is lovely and intriguing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Just a response to the Brussels bombings…it seems everyone is beyond response, numb to yet more violence, which is too bad. “What Wondrous Love is This” is a beautiful hymn, but all I could hear in my mind was “sinking down, sinking down”…lots of unanswered questions. I have lots.

      Liked by 3 people

  3. D.S. says :

    Kerfe (may I ask about your name — it’s lovely — German? Scandinavian?) … I love this, the color, the verse/hymn (I hear it in my mind now, too), and collage, which is my favorite form of any kind of art, writing, etc. A perfect piece for the sad day.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kirkistan says :

    That verse is cool and there is something about that purple threading things together. That’s a thoughtful piece, Kerfe. The verse points to “curse” but the image is hopeful and light and not sinking–in fact, it is almost rising to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Teresa Robeson says :

    So sad and lovely at the same time…

    Like

  6. Sharon Mann says :

    Very poignant! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  7. memadtwo says :

    Sort of strange how our pieces today go together in a weird way, do you see it?

    Like

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    A perfect response…one that still leaves all the questions unanswered. It’s a crazy world we’re in now. Thankful for art.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Jennifer G. Knoblock says :

    I love how you have evoked the hymn here. One of my favorites. I will listen for its echo in hope.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Really unique words and art work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

