Torso in the woods

That sounds rather gory but it’s not. I picked up this piece of birch wood on a dog walk and it looked uncannily like a torso. My neighbor cut off the jagged ends so it could stand up. I was going to paint it but when I looked at it I couldn’t–it seemed perfect. What do you think? Maybe I’ll just do the round top in rainbow colors. Or earth tones. Or is it just right as it is? 

   

I appreciate feedback on this one as this was a rare find. I don’t want to mess it up. 

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

35 responses to “Torso in the woods”

  1. Jodi says :

    I LOVE it as is!

    Like

  2. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Wow! What a cool find! Hmmm…I see what you mean…it’s kind of awesome just as it is!! It truly does resemble a human torso!

    Like

  3. Sharon Mann says :

    I say leave it as it is. Nature can’t be improved!! Very cool.

    Like

  4. outsideauthority says :

    In this case I don’t think you can compete with nature. It combines solidity with vulnerability

    Like

  5. memadtwo says :

    I agree with all of the above. Fabulous find!

    Like

  6. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    The colour and texture of the bark is just perfect, I think.

    Like

  7. kutukamus says :

    And a stylish torso, at that. 🙂

    Like

  8. D.S. says :

    Wow, this is so cool! I just love birch trees and birch wood. What a find! A found art object 🙂

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      I also collect birch where the inside is rotted out leaving just the bark. I’m fortunate to live near some woods.

      Like

      • D.S. says :

        My mom had planted a birch tree in our yard years ago, and when my husband and I decided to add on to the house (we live there now) we had to cut the birch down — I cried and cried. But I did keep several chunks and after a while they rotted out but they were still beautiful. 🙂

        Like

  9. Elusive Trope says :

    I would say as is, but (there’s a but, right?) if there was something within you that goes beyond the likeness to a torso, then adding something to “the round top” that take it to another depth, then I think it would work, because it doesn’t really impact the rest of the piece (and in one way can’t be seen from certain angles) – although maybe something in earth tones to blend with the rest of piece.

    Like

  10. Teresa Robeson says :

    I love the color of nature so I also vote to leave it as is! Looks like a birch of some sort.

    Like

  11. Cathe says :

    It’s a treasure. I would just enjoy it as is…although I’m curious what you would paint on it!

    Like

  12. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Very interesting!! I agree as is!

    Like

  13. MK says :

    It’s so unusual and perfect as it is. If that’s what you decide, I look forward at least to a drawing of what you had in mind.

    Like

  14. 10000hoursleft says :

    I don’t think you could mess it up. I think it’s perfect as it is. Maybe make it ‘imperfect’ with just the right poem written or carved onto the top?

    Like

  15. artandmoondreams says :

    Amazing find, you have good eyes! It looks like a finished piece as is, guess that is part of its unique beauty…as is.

    Like

  16. Claudia McGill says :

    Leave it like it is. Set something on top of it if you want to add to it. Something that you can leave on or take off, not permanent. Something earthen. I ‘m thinking clay. Or a different wood. I think you might have to let this piece wait for a companion. Or maybe nothing. It’s not something you can decide, I think the answer will have to come. When in doubt, do nothing and wait.

    Well, that’s my advice! It is just beautiful and what a good eye you had to see it.

    Like

  17. memadtwo says :

    Funny, a friend of mine said it would make a good candleholder. I said I’d need two. Maybe there is another one out there waiting to be found?

    Like

Leave a Reply

