Self Portrait #13 (after Man Ray)

sp 13 comp

can you see?
lost in the web of
white, a black
scratch shadows
the surface, just a shimmer
of a lock and key

Once again Man Ray’s work is a photograph; the web is superimposed over the face.  I stitched my web over a drawing, and I think perhaps I should have used either thread or one strand of embroidery floss instead of two.  On the other hand, two strands makes it harder to see the drawing–the web becomes more like a mask than a veil, an effect which I also like.

sp 13 orig sketch cropped s

At first I tried to create this self portrait by contorting myself in front of the bathroom mirror.  Luckily, my daughter was home and agreed to taking some photos of me in a similar pose to Ray’s photograph, and that worked much better.

Teresa at One Good Thing sponsors Selfie Art Day on the 25th of every month.  It gives me a deadline each month for my “100 self portrait” series which is also a good thing.

The poem was inspired by Weekly Writing Prompt #29 from The Secret Keeper.  The words fit perfectly into my stitched drawing.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

33 responses to “Self Portrait #13 (after Man Ray)”

  1. 10000hoursleft says :

    I love this concept! I went and had a look at the others in your series. This one is my favourite, and I also love 11 and 12. Looking forward to the next 87! 🙂

  2. memadtwo says :

    Deep, thoughtful, wonderful. N.

  3. Cathe says :

    This is so cool! Great selfie!

  4. Jodi says :

    Amazing Kerfe! You just blow me away every day with your creative artistic expression!

  5. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I am featuring you on my Friday friends, thanks for always being amazing!

  6. Catherine Johnson says :

    Wow that’s an amazing drawing.

  7. Sunshine Jansen says :

    Just fantastic — that the web is stitched is so perfect and so definitively You. I am also a massive Man Ray fan so you scored doubly there!

  8. Sharon Mann says :

    So striking, I love your stitched accents.

  9. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Really cool concept! And I’m a huge fan of Man Ray too! Love this one!

  10. Claudia McGill says :

    I really like how thought out each one of your works is, and the layers of meaning. I particularly like the theme of the web, being caught, or maybe you are the spider yourself, catching? And catching what? I would say ideas, right out of the air.

    Well, I love this piece, that’s what I’m trying to say.

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Claudia. Webs and spiders are another recurring theme with me, so I was attracted to this photo right away. Spiderwoman is in charge of fiber in my house!

  11. Teresa Robeson says :

    Wow! I love how you stitched the web on your portrait, Kerfe! What an amazing tribute to Man Ray! 💕

  12. D.S. says :

    This is wonderful! I was unaware of the Man Ray image, so it’s nice to learn about something new. But I really, really like your take on it — in fact, I like it better (and I like the double floss)! 🙂

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks, it’s fun to take someone else’s idea and push it a bit further. Definitely a good way to learn!

      • D.S. says :

        I totally agree! Now and then I like to take another writer’s work and type it out just to see how their words “feel,” and then other times I use the structure but add my own words. Always playing around, trying to jiggle out the “secret.” LOL

  13. j2015hall says :

    I just found your blog and happened to look at your ‘selfies.’ Fun and challenging, wasn’t it. I posted in my blog a whole year of daily painted selfies!
    I made it…a whole 365 days, painting each one on my iPad. Now flowers and funny characters are what I paint daily.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. #SelfieArt Day recap + #kidlitart | One Good Thing - March 29, 2016
  2. Half a Haibun 5 | Work in Progress - March 15, 2017

Leave a Reply

