Isaac!

isaac costumes 1

I actually went to the Jewish Museum with the purpose of seeing the “Unorthodox” exhibit, which closed last weekend (full of interesting things:  for a future post).  But imagine my delight as I stepped out onto the second floor and saw this:

color swatches

Having worked in the fashion industry, Isaac Mizrahi is well known to me.  But this exhibit puts his work together in a way that has both surprises and charm.  The wall of color swatches that he has collected over his career was just the start.

isaac costumes 2

There were costumes and accompanying videos of performances

sketches comp

walls of sketches

isaac dresses

glamour and glitter.

glitter

I have always been fond of the totem pole dress and the native American-inspired beaded jacket.

native american

The visitors, young and old, fashionista or not, seemed to latch on to Mizrahi’s exuberance with smiles.  The exhibit will be on display until August.

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

26 responses to “Isaac!”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    The images on the second row across remind me of your beautiful grid collages! Ooh, I wish I could sneak them into a museum!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Claudia McGill says :

    Wow. Extra Wow. Thanks for the information and the glimpse of this fantastic-looking exhibit.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rivrvlogr says :

    I imagine you gained some inspiration from the exhibit.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. weisserwatercolours says :

    I love the animal-themed ones so much. Here in Canada there is always great controversy when First Nations designs are used by non-natives. It is tabu for non-natives to enter into the domain of aboriginal art. Any thoughts?

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      He did these in the early 90’s but I’m sure he’d get a lot of flack 25 years later. At the moment, little kids aren’t even allowed to dress up for Halloween as Pocahontas if they are not Native American.
      I’m of many minds about it. I myself draw from many cultures in my art, although my ancestry (at least what I know about) includes only 5 or 6 Western ones. To present a copy as original is never good, and of course the fact that the “borrower” often makes a lot of money (think Gees Bend quilts) while the original artists are still living in poverty…all that has to be taken into consideration. But on the whole, cultures have always taken ideas from other cultures and adapted or modified them, and we live in a world where it’s all available. The First Nations have borrowed liberally in their art from exposure to Western Culture (glass beadwork being a prime example…and should they never paint in oils because they didn’t invent it?) so my thought is that if proper credit for inspiration is given, all the world’s cultures should be free to all.
      As to the animals…yes, absolutely my favorites. Thanks for your thoughtful comments Lance.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. memadtwo says :

    I can’t stand when Isaac is selling his stuff on QVC (yes, I do tune to that station now and then) but I must admit some of this stuff is genius. Thanks for posting! I’m way too lazy about going into the city which you already know…

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      You know, I used to design sweaters for Home Shopping Network. If designers want to do affordable things for QVC or Target, or JC Penny, why not? It would be wonderful if everything could be special and exquisitely done, but most people can’t afford that. And most designers really don’t make much if any money from couture. It’s the money from licensing that keeps the couture afloat.

      Like

  6. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    What a cool exhibit!! Wow! Wish I could have seen it in person, but thanks so much for posting this and taking us on the tour!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. merrildsmith says :

    It looks like a fun exhibit!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jodi says :

    How FUNNN! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sharon Mann says :

    Oh wow, this post will take me awhile to absorb. Thank you for sharing your remarkable find!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. annerose says :

    I LOVE the wall of swatches! Glorious.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

